Finding research after graduation
The ability to efficiently locate and use information is paramount to any role. As organisations grow increasingly complex and data-driven, employees must navigate a sea of databases, files, emails, and collaborative platforms. Being adept at information retrieval not only increases productivity but also facilitates informed decision-making and innovative problem-solving in your industry work.
To excel in evidence-based practice, individuals must cultivate a combination of digital literacy, effective search strategies, and a keen understanding of resources available to them. Explore pathways on this page for finding research once you leave university and join the workforce.
Accessing Deakin Library resources
Once you graduate, you don't need to completely say goodbye to Deakin Library! Register for an Alumni Library membership to retain some access to Deakin Library collections.
Once you've received your new Library Borrower number, refer to our Using services and resources page to learn how to borrow books and access electronic resources as an alumni member.
Check out the full listing of Alumni Library resources. As Alumni, you can access this select grouping but keep in mind that the licencing means it's only for personal use.
Free professional development opportunities are also offered to Alumni. This Webinar and Resources page includes a health specific section but you may want to think more broadly. For example, a Business webinar focused on ethical leadership may be ideally suited to your current workplace role.
Consider State and National Library resources
It's a fantastic idea to join up with your State or National Library. With this kind of library membership you can access a varied range of health focused resources and services. Benefits can include research resources, interdisciplinary learning pathways, community outreach opportunities and access to specialist software.
The State Library Victoria is a great example of databases and other resources available to support your workplace practice, as outlined in their Health and medical information guide.
Did we mention State and National Library memberships are free?
Below is a curated list of Australian libraries. Working in another country? Research the libraries in your area.
Australian States and National Library list:
Public Libraries - another pathway to resources
Becoming a member of your local public library is also a good idea.
Through membership you can access general health-related books, magazines, and sometimes journals that can be valuable for background knowledge and patient education. Public libraries also offer talks and workshops on health-related areas (e.g. nutrition, mental well-being, fitness) that could be of interest to yourself or your clients.
Explore this interactive Australian local libraries map or this Find a Library page for libraries closest to your workplace.
Public libraries near Deakin campuses list:
- Boroondara LibrariesOne of the closest library services to Burwood campus
- City of Melbourne LibrariesClosest public library service to Deakin Downtown
- Corangamite LibrariesClosest public library service to Warrnambool campus
- Geelong Regional LibrariesClosest public library service to Waterfront and Waurn Ponds campuses
- Whitehorse ManninghamOne of the closest public library services to Burwood campus
Open access resources for health
There's a wealth of freely available and easily accessed research out there. The Open Access movement is dedicated to free, immediate, online availability of research articles that are compliant with copyright laws.
Below are some significant links to Open Access material that you may find useful.
You should also check out Deakin Library's Free and Open Access guide that provides a more extensive range of freely available resources to support health professionals.
Open Access list for health research resources:
- Deakin Recommended Open Access Health Resources ListYou may have already used this Deakin guide. It provides access to a range of freely available and open access material to support the health and human services professions.
- PubMedA free resource from the US National Library of Medicine, PubMed has more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.
- Australasian Open Access RepositoriesYou can easily find up-to-date research material in open access repositories. You may be familiar with Deakin Research Online (DRO), the University's repository of research output by academics and higher degree research students. Other Australian universities have similar open-access repositories, which are all listed on this website.
- Deakin Research Online (DRO)DRO is Deakin University's research repository, providing digital curation by describing and preserving the University's research output and enabling worldwide discovery.
- Clinicians Health Channel (CHC)Free to people working in the Victorian public health system. The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality evidence-based resources. There is also a CHC newsletter you can subscribe to for information about upcoming workshops, webinars, and updates to CHC knowledge hub.