Find information after uni
“We’re not just consuming information anymore; we are navigating an ocean of it. The ability to find what’s relevant is the new literacy."
Howard Rheingold, author of Net Smart: How to Thrive Online
Workplace information landscape
Finding the right information is fundamental to every job, every industry, and nearly everything we do.
Information access is different once you leave uni. Your information landscape changes. As a student, you had access to a range of subscription databases and journals. In the workplace, this won’t always be the case. But knowing where to look and how to access sources remains essential.
Being able to find the information you need (whether it’s industry research, evidence to support a project, or the latest news) is a core professional skill and an expectation in any workplace.
Fortunately, there are ways to find credible information after graduation. This page covers how to find and access information through open access, free resources, library memberships, and other tools.
Alert
In professional settings, information fuels decision-making, problem-solving, and innovation.
Deakin Alumni resources
Just because you’ve graduated doesn’t mean you have to say goodbye to Deakin Library!
As a Deakin alum, you can register for Alumni Library membership to retain some access to Deakin Library collections. Once you've signed up and received your alumni borrower number, refer to our Using services and resources on how alumni borrow books and access electronic resources.
Keep in mind that alumni access is more limited than student access due to licensing agreements. You can find the full list of databases and journals available to alumni on the Alumni A-Z list.
Note
Alumni also have access to other lifelong benefits. Career services, professional development, connection to an alumni network, and other learning opportunities are all on offer. Check out the Deakin Alumni community space for more info.
Open Access resources
There's a wealth of freely available and easily accessible research out there thanks to the Open Access movement. Open Access resources are research outputs (like journal articles, papers, and data) made available to the public without paywalls.
Click on the plus (+) icons below to explore some Open Access spaces.
Browser tools for finding open research
Streamline your search and access by using browser tools that connect you to free copies of articles or other resources:
- Unpaywall: Browser extension that finds legal open-access versions of academic articles. Unpaywall checks publisher pages for free PDFs and provides an access link if available.
- Open Access Button: Like Unpaywall, this browser extension finds free articles. Also helps you request access from the author if needed.
- Library Extension: Library Extension shows book availability at your chosen public or university libraries while browsing sites like Amazon or Goodreads, helping you find free borrowing options instantly.
These tools ensure you’re not hitting paywalls, saving you time and money when searching for information.
Tip
Use Google Scholar and other search engines to find open versions of articles; look for PDF links or images. You can also search the title with ".pdf" or check other platforms for author-shared copies.
State and national library resources
State and national libraries provide free access to databases, journals, and research collections that often require a subscription elsewhere. The National Library of Australia and state libraries offer memberships that include e-resource access, specialist collections, and on-site software or equipment.
These libraries are valuable for workplace research. They frequently have interdisciplinary resources and can be a goldmine for professionals continuing to learn. Most offer free, online sign-ups.
Australian state and national libraries listing:
Tip
Leverage state or national libraries for no-cost access to information beyond what you can find in a web search.
Public Library resources
Don’t forget about your local public library. Your local public library is a great resource, offering free access to databases, Wi-Fi, co-working spaces, and workshops on topics like business, research, and professional development.
Joining a public library is free.
Explore this interactive Australian local libraries map or this Find a Library page for libraries closest to your home or workplace.
Public libraries near Deakin
Live near one of Deakin’s campuses? Here are nearby public library services:
- Geelong Regional Libraries: Covers large area including Waterfront and Waurn Ponds campus.
- Boroondara Libraries: One of the closest library services to Burwood campus.
- Warrnambool Library and Learning Centre: Public library that supports the community, close to Warrnambool campus.
- City of Melbourne Libraries: Library network serving central Melbourne, including Deakin Downtown area.
- Whitehorse Manningham Libraries: Another public library service close to Burwood campus.
Key advice
Define your information need. Before diving into research, take a moment to define what you need to find or get an answer to. Identify key terms, synonyms, or relevant organisations that might have the info you need. A little planning can save time in the long run.
Try multiple sources. No single search engine or tool has everything. Different platforms index information differently and can have resources invisible to general web searches. Casting a wider net increases the chances of finding the best possible information.
Use advanced search techniques. Just like library databases, searching for information in other platforms works best when you use filters and advanced features. Check out Google Advanced Search as an example of getting more targeted search results.