Build professional networks
“The currency of real networking is not greed but generosity."
Keith Ferrazzi, author of Never Eat Alone
Networking for career success
“Networking” is more than just a buzzword. It’s a key part of career growth. A strong professional network connects you peers, mentors, industry leaders, and recruiters. These connections open doors to job opportunities, collaborations, and ongoing support.
Networking can happen both online and in person. While it can feel daunting, it's fundamentally about building relationships. Which you have decades of experience in doing!
The key to remember is it's a two-way exchange of insights, opportunities, and support.
This section explores practical ways to grow and maintain your network.
Why build a network?
Your network is a long-term career asset, not just a contact list. Strong connections open doors. They can help you navigate opportunities and challenges at every stage of your working life.
Here’s our fast five reasons that networking matters:
- Hidden job market: Many roles are filled through referrals. A strong network can connect you to unadvertised opportunities.
- Professional growth: Networking keeps you informed on trends, training, and industry changes.
- Collaboration: Opportunities to collaborate with people in your network on projects, research, or business ventures.
- Mentorship: Experienced professionals offer guidance, feedback, and insights beyond textbooks.
- Support: Trusted connections for advice on navigating work challenges and career decisions.
Tip
Prioritise quality over quantity. A few meaningful connections with people who know and support you are far more beneficial than a long list of vague contacts.
Professional associations
One of the best ways to meet people in your field is to join a professional association related to your industry or discipline. Professional associations are organisations that bring together practitioners in a specific field to network, share knowledge, and advance the interests of the profession. Most industries have at least one, and often several, associations you could join. Some professions have official bodies that offer accreditation. Being a member can sometimes be a requirement to be recognised as a certified professional in that field.
Professional associations often have discounted membership rates for students or recent graduates. Check while you're still a student or recent graduate—you may get a discount or a free first year.
Benefits from joining an association can include access to job boards, career services, networking events, professional development, and industry publications.
Click on the plus (+) icons below to find professional associations across multiple fields:
Allied Health networks
- Australian Psychological Society (APS) : Supports psychology professionals with professional development and networking.
- Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW) : Advocates for ethical social work practices and provides professional development resources.
- Australian Community Workers Association (ACWA) : National body supporting community workers in various sectors.
- Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (ASMIRT) : Provides professional development, scholarships, and research support.
- Dietitians Australia : Leading body in nutrition and dietetics, offering professional development and networking opportunities.
- Exercise and Sports Science Australia (ESSA) : Professional organisation offering accreditation, professional development, and advocacy to promote community health and well-being.
- National Disability Practitioners (NDP) : A support network for disability practitioners. Provides resources, professional development, and a community platform to enhance service delivery in the disability sector.
- The Nutrition Society of Australia : Dedicated to advancing nutrition science through research, education, and policy advocacy. Provides networking opportunities, professional development, conferences, and access to publications.
- Occupational Therapy Australia : Peak professional body representing occupational therapists in Australia. Provides members with access to professional development, resources, advocacy, and a community to support their careers.
- Optometry Australia : The peak professional body for optometrists. Offers members professional development, practice support, advocacy, and resources to ensure the delivery of quality eye care.
Architecture and Built Environment networks
- Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) : Leading professional body for architects in Australia, providing resources, networking opportunities, and advocacy.
- Australian Institute of Building (AIB) : Represents professionals in building and construction management, focusing on education, standards, and professional development.
- Planning Institute of Australia (PIA) : Peak professional body for urban and regional planners in Australia, providing accreditation, advocacy, and professional development.
- Engineers Australia : Peak body for engineers, covering all engineering disciplines and providing accreditation, professional development, and advocacy.
Arts, Humanities, and Social Science networks
- Australian Academy of the Humanities : An independent organization that promotes scholarship, professional practice, and understanding of the humanities.
- Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA) : Independent, non-profit organization promoting interest in and understanding of international affairs and policy.
- Australian Political Studies Association (APSA) : Peak body for political scientists and policy scholars. Organizes conferences and fosters discussion in politics and international relations.
- Economic Society of Australia (ESA) : Professional association for economists aiming to advance economic thought and debate through forums, publications, and conferences.
- Australasian Association of Philosophy (AAP) : The major professional organization for philosophers in Australasia, promoting research, education, and collaboration.
- Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA) : Independent, non-profit body of elected Fellows promoting excellence in the social sciences. Provides research funding and policy advice.
- The Australian Sociological Association (TASA) : Professional body supporting sociologists through conferences, research, publications, and community engagement.
Business and Law networks
- Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) : Provides education, governance resources, and networking opportunities for company directors and executives.
- Business Council of Australia (BCA) : Represents the chief executives of leading Australian corporations, advocating on national policy.
- CPA Australia : Professional accounting body supporting finance, accounting, and business professionals with certification and development.
- Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) : Peak accounting body offering CA accreditation, professional development, and advocacy.
- Law Council of Australia : The national peak body representing the Australian legal profession, providing advocacy, policy work, and professional resources.
- Australian Bar Association : National representative body of Australian barristers. Promotes professional standards, advocacy, and legal education.
- Corporate Counsel (formerly ACLA) : Membership organization for in-house legal counsel, providing networking, training, and advocacy for corporate lawyers.
Communications and Media networks
- Australian and New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA) : Fosters scholarship, research, and professional practice in communication across Australia and New Zealand.
- Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA) : Union and industry advocate for professionals in media, entertainment, and the arts, including journalism, stage, and screen.
- Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA) : Peak body for PR and communication professionals, offering accreditation, professional development, and industry standards.
- International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) – Australia : Connects business communication professionals through events, networking, and thought leadership.
- Australian Press Council (APC) : Self-regulatory body promoting press standards and freedom of speech. Deals with complaints about news media.
Creative Arts, Design, Film and Animation networks
- National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA) : Leads advocacy, policy, and action for Australia’s visual arts sector, supporting artists, curators, and organizations.
- Australian Graphic Design Association (AGDA) : The peak national organization for professional graphic designers, offering education, events, and industry standards.
- Australian Directors' Guild (ADG) : Industry association representing film, TV, and digital media directors, advocating for professional development, rights, and recognition.
- Screen Producers Australia (SPA) : Peak industry body representing Australian film and TV producers, offering lobbying, policy guidance, and industry events.
- Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) : Represents cinematographers and camera crew, promoting excellence in screen production and technical craft.
- Australian Writers' Guild (AWG) : Supports screen, stage, and radio writers; offers advocacy, awards, and industry development initiatives.
Ecology and Environmental networks
- Australian Wildlife Society (AWS) : Non-profit dedicated to conserving Australian wildlife and habitats.
- Australian Marine Sciences Association (AMSA) : Supports collaboration and knowledge exchange through events like its annual conference, regional meetings, and professional development programs.
- Environmental Institute of Australia and New Zealand (EIANZ) : Promotes excellence in environmental management and sustainability.
- Ecological Society of Australia (ESA) : Supports ecological science through research funding, advocacy, and events.
Education networks
- Australian Council of TESOL Associations (ACTA) : Peak body for Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, advocating for TESOL professionals across Australia.
- Early Childhood Australia (ECA) : Peak early childhood advocacy group supporting quality education, research, and professional development for early childhood practitioners.
- Australian Childcare Alliance (ACA) : Represents early learning service providers, focusing on advocacy, professional support, and policy development.
- Australian Education Union (AEU) : Union representing public school teachers, principals, and support staff across Australia.
- Independent Education Union of Australia (IEU) : Union for staff working in non-government education, offering professional advocacy and resources.
- Australian Teacher Education Association (ATEA) : Professional network promoting research and scholarship in teacher education, including conferences and publications.
Health networks
- Australian Health Promotion Association : Peak body involved in the practice, policy, research, and study of health promotion.
- Australian Medical Association (AMA) : Represents doctors across Australia, advocating for the medical profession and public health.
- Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (ANMF) : Largest union and professional association for nurses, midwives, and carers in Australia.
- Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association (APNA) : Professional body for nurses working in primary health care, offering advocacy, professional development, and networking opportunities.
Science networks
- Australian Academy of Science (AAS) : Advances scientific excellence and fosters collaboration.
- Australian and New Zealand Forensic Science Society (ANZFSS) : Provides networking opportunities, training, and a biennial International Symposium, bringing together forensic practitioners, researchers, and legal professionals from across Australia and New Zealand.
- Australian Marine Sciences Association (AMSA) : Supports collaboration and knowledge exchange through events like its annual conference, regional meetings, and professional development programs.
- Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS) : Leading organisation promoting the advancement of mathematics through research, education, and collaboration. Provides networking and professional development opportunities, including conferences and workshops.
- Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) : Provides its members with opportunities for professional development, promotes research and education in physics, and facilitates networking through events such as conferences, special interest groups, and regional meetings.
- Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI) : Peak body for chemists across industry, academia, and education.
Technology networks
- Australian Computer Society (ACS) : Leading association for IT professionals, providing accreditation, certification, and networking.
- Australian Information Security Association (AISA) : Peak body for cybersecurity professionals, promoting workforce development and industry knowledge-sharing.
- Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) : Peak national representative body and advocacy group for the digital ecosystem. Provides networking events and professional development opportunities.
- Females in IT & Telecommunications (FItT) : Not-for-profit network promoting gender equity in the tech industry.
- Information Technology Professionals Association (ITPA) : Not-for-profit organisation established to advance the understanding of ICT matters within the community, corporate, and government sectors in Australia. Provides resources, certifications, and a community for IT professionals.
- Tech Council of Australia (TCA) : Advocates for policies supporting tech innovation and industry growth.
- Women in Tech : Global network supporting gender diversity in tech through mentoring and career development.
DeakinTALENT and networking opportunities
As a Deakin student or graduate, you have access to DeakinTALENT. This is Deakin University’s dedicated graduate employment service. It acts as a bridge between graduates and employers. Click on the cards below to explore DeakinTALENT's tailored services that support professional opportunities.
Using DeakinTALENT is a smart move because it’s tailored to Deakin’s network. Employers who come to these events or use this portal often have a positive view of Deakin graduates.
Note
Beyond Deakin-specific services, also explore general employment platforms like LinkedIn Jobs, or GradConnection for opportunities. But leverage your networks when you do. If you see a job posted at a company and you realise someone in your network works there, politely ask them for insight or even a referral.
Professional social media tools
It's easy to get overwhelmed by the amount of choice for social media platforms. You can’t possibly use all of them, and it’s much better to be active on one or two sites than to have neglected profiles all over the internet which haven’t had recent use.
With social media, firstly think about what you want to achieve by using a tool. This helps you determine which one is the right fit.
This guide's Digital identity and the workplace section covers social media tools from the perspective of curating a professional online presence.
Examples of social media used in the workplace:
-
LinkedInA common professional social media tool used in most industries. Through LinkedIn you can create a professional profile, upload your work experience and qualifications, connect with other professionals, join groups and even find a job! Remember that your email address is part of your brand. It should be your name, preferably first name and last name. If it is not available, try variations that include your first and last name. Try not to use numbers.
-
TwitterMany professionals use their Twitter profiles as a networking tool and to share industry news. Twitter is great for day to day conversation, following researchers or organisations in your area, to stay on top of interesting projects and research or for keeping up with news in your field or industry as it happens, for keeping in touch with interesting people you met at events but don’t quite feel ready to email yet, for campaigning to try and get support for a particular issue, or to crowdsource questions.
-
ResearchGateA social networking site, for scientists and researchers, that connects you with colleagues, where you can ask and answer questions, find collaborators, and make your research visible.
-
Academia.eduThis is a social networking website for academics, where you can follow research or upload and share your own.
-
Google Scholar Author ProfileA Google Scholar Author Profile, also called a Citation Profile, will help you maintain an online presence for any scholarly work you generate
Key advice
Build relationships and networks intentionally. Start small, be genuine, and let your network grow organically. If you're unsure which association to join, ask lecturers or colleagues already in the industry for recommendations. Many associations also allow non-members to attend event. Try a webinar or mixer to see if it’s a good fit.
Be a giver, not just a taker. Offer help or share useful information when you can. Maybe you came across an article relevant to a colleague’s project. Send it to them with a note that it made you think of them. By contributing to others, you become seen as a valuable connection.
Start conversations. Networking can happen anywhere. At a workshop, on a Zoom call, even at a social event. Don’t be afraid to introduce yourself and ask people about their work. Showing genuine interest in others is the first step to forming a connection. A simple question like “What did you think of the speaker?” at an event can open up dialogue.