2. Find academic articles
For broad help with finding academic articles visit our Finding Academic Articles learning resource.
There are many places you can find academic articles, but the easiest way is to search in library databases. By searching within a database, you can search multiple journals at once. There isn’t one database that has everything, so it’s important to search across multiple databases.
You can search within the databases below for Sustainable Regional Development articles. Alternatively, select the Journals tab to browse through a list of key Sustainable Regional Development journals.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science interface includes Web of Science Core Collections including the Arts & humanities citation index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions and Book Citation Indexes and also hosts the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (1926-2016), SciELO citation index, MEDLINE and Zoological record.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect provides indexing and full text of journal articles in the following subjects: Chemistry, Chemical Engineerin, Clinical Medicine, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Economics, Business and Management Science, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics,Astronomy, Social Science. Full text is only available for the journals to which Deakin University subscribes. The University has purchased a number of back issue journal sets from ScienceDirect. For many of these titles, the most current volumes will not be available in full text.
- CSIRO PublishingCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) publishes literature in a wide range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.
- Nature.comNature Publishing Group (NPG) publishes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
- JSTOR SustainabilityJSTOR Sustainability contains journals and research reports covering environmental stresses and their impact on society. The collection covers a broad range of topics - from green energy to natural resources law, sustainable business practices, urban planning.
- Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- Wiley JournalsWiley Online Library journals cover subject areas of Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Sciences, Architecture & Planning, Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
- Journal of Environmental Policy & PlanningThe Journal of Environmental Policy & Planning is an international journal that provides a forum for the critical analysis of environmental policy and planning. It explores the environmental dimensions of common policies such as spatial planning (urban, rural and marine), natural resource management, agriculture and food, fisheries, water, energy and transport, all stages in the policy and planning processes from formulation to implementation, and the interactions between governments and markets, the strategies of non-governmental organizations and business in relation to the environment, natural resources and land-use.
- Journal of Economic GeographyThe aims of the Journal of Economic Geography are to redefine and reinvigorate the intersection between economics and geography, and to provide a world-class journal in the field. The journal is steered by a distinguished team of Editors and an Editorial Board, drawn equally from the two disciplines. It publishes original academic research and discussion of the highest scholarly standard in the field of 'economic geography' broadly defined.
- Sociologia RuralisSociologia Ruralis reflects the diversity of European social-science research on rural areas and related issues. The complexity and diversity of rural problems require multi and interdisciplinary approaches. Over the past 40 years Sociologia Ruralis has been an international forum for social scientists engaged in a wide variety of disciplines focusing on social, political and cultural aspects of rural development. Sociologia Ruralis covers a wide range of subjects, ranging from farming, natural resources and food systems to rural communities, rural identities and the restructuring of rurality.
- Regional StudiesRegional Studies is a leading international journal covering the development of theories and concepts, empirical analysis and policy debate in the field of regional studies. The journal publishes original research spanning the economic, social, political and environmental dimensions of urban and regional (subnational) change. The distinctive purpose of Regional Studies is to connect insights across intellectual disciplines in a systematic and grounded way to understand how and why regions and cities evolve.
- The Town planning reviewAs a leading urban planning and regional planning journal, Town Planning Review provides a principal forum for communication between researchers and students, policy analysts and practitioners.
- Energy policyThe International Journal of the Political, Economic, Planning, Environmental and Social Aspects of Energy. Energy Policy is an international peer-reviewed journal addressing the policy implications of energy supply and use from their economic, social, planning and environmental aspects.
Database search example
Below is an example of an advanced search option you’ll find in most databases. It has multiple search boxes with the Boolean operator, AND, listed on the left-hand side. Each concept has been entered into a search box and joined by AND.
Click on the plus (+) icons to learn about each search technique demonstrated.
Activity overview
This interactive activity shows an image of the Library advanced search bars filled in with an example search as follows:
rural OR region*
AND
"environmental econom*" OR "ecological econom*"
AND
australia*
There are 3 selectable icons that explain each of the search techniques used in this advanced search.
Technique 1: Operators
Using OR between terms broadens a search to show results that contain any of the terms. Using AND narrows the search to show results that contain all of the terms.
Technique 2: Grouping your words
Use double quotation marks to search for words in an exact order. This is called phrase searching.
Technique 3: Using symbols
Add an asterisk to the end of a keyword to find variant word endings. This is called truncation. This example of australia* will find australia, australian, australians.