News
The following links will take you to news sources available through the library.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank provides access to articles from international, Australian national and local newspapers.
- FactivaFactiva provides access to more than 8,000 Australian and international newspapers, news sources and newspaper pictures/photos.
- TVNewsTVNews provides access to Australian television news services (commercial, ABC and SBS) as well as selected current affairs and documentary shows.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 U.S. newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Online video resources
Streaming video allows for Deakin staff and students to view video online. These can include films, documentaries and instructional videos. Selected examples for Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies are listed below.
- Sage Research Methods VideoThis online tool will help you design your research project. Includes videos on selecting appropriate research methods.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online features documentary style content. Browse videos by subject, cultural group or geographic location. Video content includes interviews, field recordings, animations, performances and also some feature films. Users have the option to create a personal account, in order to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. There is also various supporting materials available for use, including transcripts and films with attached study guides and other supporting content.
Image Collections
Finding high resolution images for your assessments and creative works can be difficult. Deakin Library subscribes to several image databases that give you access to high quality images from around the world.
- ArtstorArtstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Oxford Art OnlineAn authoritative source of information about fashion and art including access to hundreds of related images.
- Anatomy TVInteractive anatomy and pathology 3D resource. Includes 3D animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Also MRI images, clinical slides, radiology slides, X-rays, dissection slides and videos. Images are cleared for educational use (with appropriate acknowledgement).
Hanneorla, H. Asia House, Bauhaus, Tel Aviv, Israel. Flickr. [Internet]. Tel Aviv:Flickr; 2008 Available from:http://www.flickr.com/photos/hanneorla/2399708038/
Deakin provides access to image databases which are copyright cleared for educational purposes. Please ensure that you check the licensing conditions before re-use, and fully reference images. Learn more about copyright.
Online multimedia resources
Many web search engines allow an image or video specific search, however beware that online material often loses copyright information. It is best to use resources which have clear Creative Commons licences or Terms of Use which enable Deakin to use the material. Never link to or embed material which is clearly in breach of copyright.
Don't use commercial products unless Deakin has a subscription, or you are able to purchase the rights to the resource.
Youtube is a video sharing website. Many institutions have their own 'Youtube channel,' including Deakin. See YouTube Terms and YouTube Copyright.
