Online articles
By searching within a database, you can search through multiple journals at once. You can search within the databases listed below for Architecture articles. Alternatively, select the tab Recommended Journals to browse through a list of key architecture journals.
-
Avery index to architectural periodicalsThis key database covers international, scholarly and popular journals for architecture and design from around the world.
-
Art and Architecture SourceArt and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
-
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with coverage of STEM research including architecture, construction and the built environment.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to an archive of major journal titles and e-books. It is an excellent source for articles and book chapters covering architecture, architectural history and art history.
-
CuminCADCuminCAD is an index of publications about computer aided architecture from key journals and conferences in the field.
-
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering the Sciences, including Architecture and the built environment.. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
-
GreenFILEIndexes hundreds of journals looking at all aspects of human impact on the environment including climate change, recycling, green building, renewable energy and more.
-
A database covering ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and sustainable building design.
- Bloomsbury Design Library Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
- Artstor Artstor (accessible via JSTOR) is a digital image database that provides a vast collection of high-quality images related to art, architecture, humanities, and cultural heritage.
- Art and Architecture in Video Art and Architecture in Video is a streaming video database that features a curated collection of documentaries, interviews, and instructional films on art, design, and architecture.
- ARCH - Australian Architecture Database ARCH – Australian Architecture Database is a specialised resource that provides access to a wide range of materials related to Australian architecture, design, and the built environment.
- Architectural Design (AD)
Renowned for being at the leading edge of design and new technologies, AD also covers topics as diverse as: architectural history and theory, the environment, interior design, landscape architecture and urban design. - Architectural Science Review
Leading journal devoted to architectural science, technology and the built environment. Peer reviewed. - Architecture Australia
National magazine of the Australian Institute of Architects. Independent reviews by leading thinkers in Australian architecture. - El Croquis (Print journal)
Print journal. Prestigious international architectural journal. Presents the work, designs and analysis of major international architects. - Detail: Review of Architecture
Each issue of DETAIL is devoted to a specific constructional theme. Includes analysis of selected projects and plan drawings. - A+U: Architecture and Urbanism (Print journal)
Architectural magazine from Japan relevant to architecture and urbanism. It is comprehensively illustrated and accompanied by plans, maps, sections and details. - arq: Architectural Research Quarterly
Publishes cutting-edge work covering all aspects of architecture. Contents include building design, urbanism, history, theory, environmental design, construction, materials, information technology, and practice. - Fabrications: the journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand
Refereed journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand. Devoted to scholarly publication in the field of architectural history, particularly papers on the architectural, urban and landscape history of Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and South-East Asian regions. - International Journal of Architectural Heritage
Provides a multidisciplinary scientific overview of existing resources and modern technologies useful for the study and repair of historical buildings and other structures. -
Frontiers of Architectural Research
Introduces and reviews significant and pioneering achievements in the field of architecture research. Subject areas include the primary branches of architecture, such as architectural design and theory, architectural science and technology, urban science, landscaping architecture, and architectural history and heritage conservation.
Print articles
Accessing print journal articles
The Waterfront campus library has a large and rich collection of architecture journals in print. These are located in the Art and Architecture PER (or periodical) collection. You cannot borrow the print journals, but can use them in the library to read, scan and photocopy.
Please don't cut up or damage these journals - some of the older issues are irreplaceable! They are an inspirational resource worth exploring.
Searching for print journals
The best way to search for a print journal is via Catalogue Search. Follow the steps below to find a journal or journal article.
- Type the journal title in the search box.
- Refine your search by selecting All journals from the drop-down box next to the search box.
- Note down the full location details and navigate to the Architecture Zone in the library.
- Search for the journal on the shelf by looking for the location number on the boxes and journal spines.
Example
The library record below shows the location of the journal in the collection: WATERFRONT PER at the Call number 720.946 Ecd/Ayd.
It also lists the issues of the journal held by the library including the latest issue.
Finding the article from a reference
If you have an article reference you want to access in the print journal collection. Locate the journal on the shelf and use the elements of the reference such as volume number, issue number, date and page number to locate the article.
Drag the slider below to discover the names for the different parts of this Australian Harvard reference.
Article requests
Found an article that looks interesting? Can't find it online or it's only available in print at another campus?
You can request a scanned copy via our document delivery service.