Article requests
Found an article that looks interesting? Can't find it online or it's only available in print at another campus?
You can request a scanned copy via our document delivery service.
Referencing your sources 
It's important to reference sources referred to in your writing.
Good referencing:
- Shows how widely you have read;
- Enables the reader to find sources you've referred to;
- Supports and strengthens your arguments;
- Demonstrates academic integrity;
- Credits the original author(s) for their work
Deakin's Referencing Guide shows you how to format your references.
Have a referencing question? Ask the Study Support Team.
Key research resources
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, which is an art encyclopedia covering Western and non-Western art, plus The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Access ebooks on a wide range of topics relating to visual arts, photography, design.
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary ArtThis online reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A-to-Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries.
Inside the Painter's Studio by Armed with a camera and a self-made "Artist's Questionnaire," Fig makes a journey through the works paces of some of today's most exciting contemporary artists.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in ArtThe Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art & ArtistsCovering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this online dictionary contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries
Short Guide to Writing about Art, a, Global EditionThe best-selling guide to writing about art Sylvan Barnet's A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Includes how to analyse pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture.
Start you searching in Art and Architecture Source. Search in this database to find relevant articles on contemporary artists, art practise and art history.
Other useful databases:
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full TextIncludes full text of Australian art journals, such as Artlink, Art Monthly, Art & Australia and others.
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)Focuses on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- Humanities SourceHumanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Ebsco Humanities International CompleteCoverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTORProvides access to an online electronic archive of major journal titles and ebooks. It has excellent coverage of the arts, culture, media and philosophy.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.