LibGuides: Engineering: Standards

Standards

Standards are official publications used in industry and trade to describe specifications and procedures. They provide rules and recommendations for:

quality
safety
performance and construction
codes of practice
methods of testing
symbols and terminology

The databases listed below provide access to thousands of standards and related resources which you will find useful for your Engineering study, research and assessment tasks.

Australian Standards
Australian Standards (SAI Global) includes full text copies of the Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks. You can also search ISO International Standards. To search for ISO standards, ensure you select 'All' when searching and not 'Australian'.
Access Information Users must register for an account using their Deakin email address
Users must download FileOpen plugin and Adobe Reader onto their personal device to download standards
Deakin staff should contact their Liaison Librarian for instructions on downloading FileOpen plugin onto their Deakin device
4 concurrent users
British Standards Online
British Standards Online (BSOL) provides access to 200 selected British Standards and Eurocodes.
ASTM Journals
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides access to standards and the theory, science and technical insights behind the standards. The ASTM manuals, monographs, special technical publications and journals are all included in the Digital Library.
IHS Engineering Workbench
IHS Engineering Workbench International Standards Collection provides access to over 12,000 ASTM standards.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides access to abstracts and full-text of: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE conference proceedings and current IEEE standards.

Tip

If you need to request a standard that we don't have, please contact a Scholarly Services Librarian for Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment.