Recommended Books
The Everything Essential Spanish Book: All You Need to Learn Spanish in No Time by ISBN: 1440566224Publication Date: 2013This book covers the basics in Spanish, including the Spanish alphabet, translation greetings, conversation starters, common questions and answers, verb tenses and sentence structure.
E-book Collections:
- JSTOR eBooksContains Spanish-language titles in History, Sociology, Literature, and more. The e-books are integrated with journals on the JSTOR platform, including important Latin American publications such as El Trimestre Económico, Anuario de Estudios Centroamericanos, and Desarrollo Económico.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.
Online newspapers & magazines
- PressReader
This database contains a wide range of newspapers and magazines, from the last 3 months. To access Spanish language media sources, select the dropdown arrow next to Select Title (top right), then select By Language, then select Spanish. PressReader also enables searching by the name of the publication or by Country.
 |
 |
 |
| Democracia | El Diario de El Paso | Milenio |
Online Dictionaries
- Collins Online Dictionary - English/Spanish and Spanish/English
The Collins Spanish is the ultimate companion for Spanish language learners. Recently updated with all the latest words and phrases, this dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of contemporary European and Latin American Spanish.
- The Free Dictionary / By Farlex (Spanish)
This online dictionary allows you to create your own personal homepage by adding and removing, dragging and dropping content windows. This website has a virtual keyboard for Espanol within the search bar.
- Word Reference - English/Spanish and Spanish/English language dictionaries
The Word Reference Dictionaries are free online translation dictionaries.
Online video collections
 |
Episode One of Learning Spanish: How to Understand and Speak a New Language (there are 30 episodes in this series) |
Language comprehension
- Conjuguemos
This website provides activities to learn Spanish verbs, vocabulary and grammar, and also has listening activities.
Journals
- Bulletin of Spanish Studies
This journal is dedicated to research into the languages, literatures, histories, cultures and civilisations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America
- Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
An international peer-reviewed journal that interrogates cultural production and cultural practices in or related to the nations comprised by the Spanish state.