Recommended Books
A History of the Chinese Language by Publication Date: 2014This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the historical development of the Chinese language from its proto Sino-Tibetan roots in prehistoric times to Modern Standard Chinese. It presents a chronological survey of the various stages of Chinese language development, covering aspects such as phonology, syntax and semantics.
Developing Writing Skills in Chinese by Publication Date: 2013Each section covers a specific style of writing and is reinforced with a selection of model texts. All texts are followed by supporting notes examining the formats, styles, grammar structures or special phrases featured. Each section concludes with a glossary given in Chinese characters, pinyin and English translations.
Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary: Chinese-English : English-Chinese by Publication Date: 2012This Mandarin dictionary is perfect for Chinese language students traveling to China who wish to learn Chinese. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions, covering all aspects of life and commerce in China. In addition, extensive information on Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation are included.
Online newspapers & magazines
- China Core Newspapers
Provides access to core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000. Deakin provides access to articles from 2000 - 2013, in four of the ten subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, and Economics & Management.
- PressReader
This database contains a wide range of newspapers and magazines, from the last 3 months. To access Chinese language media sources, select the dropdown arrow next to Select Title (top right), then select By Language, then select Chinese. PressReader also enables searching by the name of the publication or by Country.
 |
 |
 |
| China Today | The Time Weekly | China Economic Herald |
Recommended websites
- Arch Chinese
Designed for English speakers who have no or little knowledge of Mandarin Chinese.Features include: native-speaker recordings for Chinese characters and words, and the ability to generate worksheets and flashcards to facilitate learning.
Online video collections
- Asian Film Online
Contains narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts offering perspectives and insights on themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Searches can be refined by Language of Edition to Chinese.
Language comprehension
Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide by Publication Date: 2014A reference guide to Mandarin Chinese, combining traditional and function-based grammar. The Grammar is divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as phrase order, nouns, verbs and specifiers. Part B is carefully organized around language functions and notions such as: communication strategies, making comparisons, giving and seeking information, expressing apologies, regrets and sympathies. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed.
Chinese for Beginners: mastering conversational Chinese by Publication Date: 2012Chinese for Beginners focuses on realistic situations you'll encounter when you meet people in China. New words are explained in terms of how you'll actually use them to communicate.
Intermediate Written Chinese Practice Essentials: read and write Mandarin Chinese as the Chinese do by Publication Date: 2015Contains exercises and activities to enhance your proficiency in reading and writing Mandarin Chinese.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.