LibGuides: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health: Find journal articles

Recommended sources of academic journal articles

Global Health
The main public health database that covers all areas of health.
CINAHL Complete
Premier database of full-text academic articles for nursing & allied health.
Health Policy Reference Center
Health Policy Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Health source - Nursing/Academic edition
Full text database focusing on many medical and health disciplines.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Medline Complete
MEDLINE Complete is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, containing full text for journals.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database with strong focus on allied-health.
Social Work Abstracts
All aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Health Collection (Informit)
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Many titles included in the Collection are unavailable elsewhere online, including journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest such as ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.

Indigenous Collection (Informit)
The Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies with material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.
AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies Bibliography
Database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. (Not full text.)

PubMed filter for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
This search tool, developed by the Lowitja Institute, provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature in the PubMed database.

Aboriginal and Islander Health Worker Journal
Written by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers. Covers a range of topics including primary health care, community profiles, health promotion, best practice models and workforce issues.
Australian Indigenous Health Bulletin
A peer-reviewed electronic journal from the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet (available under Websites).
The Australian Journal of Social Issues
AJSI is a quarterly refereed journal which aims to contribute to the development of social scientific analysis of social and policy problems in Australia.
Indigenous Health Matters
The biannual newsletter published by the Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health.

The National Indigenous Times
Also available in print in the Waurn Ponds Library.
Koori Mail
Also available in print in the Waurn Ponds Library.

Newsbank Access Australia
Newsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
ABC News Indigenous
Contains articles relating to Indigenous news. Also offers news in a few Indigenous languages.
SBS News Indigenous
Covers news relating to Indigenous issues.

Informit EduTV
Covers Australian free to air documentaries and programs e.g. Living Black
NITV National Indigenous TeleVision
Programs and news.
SBS Living Black
Australia's premier Indigenous current affairs program, Living Black provides timely, intelligent and comprehensive coverage of the issues affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.
SBS Living Black - Radio Podcasts
Living Black on SBS Radio aims to connect, inform and inspire Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities around the nations through news, current affairs, community information.