Finding journal articles
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database strong in the allied health sciences.
- Medline CompleteClinical medicine database (same content as PubMed) with full text access to all articles.
- CINAHL CompleteMajor database for nursing and allied health, and will contain useful content for aspects of your medical information gathering.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene.
- APA PsycInfoThe premier database for psychological information, published by the American Psychological Association.
- PubMedProvided free by the US National Library of Medicine, with citations for articles from 1947 to the present with many open access links to full text articles.
- Health Collection (Informit)Includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Subject areas included ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
- ATSIhealth - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health BibliographyIndexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Abstracts only, however, full text maybe available via another database or requested via our document delivery service.
- RURAL- Rural and Remote Health DatabaseCovers rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses.
Specific journals can be easily searched within.
- Journal of Rural and Remote HealthFormerly known as Journal of Rural and Tropical Public Health.
- Online Journal of Rural Nursing and HealthcareOfficial journal of the Rural Nurse Organization.
- Rural and Remote HealthPublished by Deakin.
- The AgeDigital edition.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaComplete full-text content of many local, regional, national & international newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Informit EduTVUpdated weekly, this is a TV streaming resource covering over 10,000 programs such as news and current affairs, documentaries and dramas that have been aired on Australian free-to-air TV.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.
Article requests
Found an article that looks interesting? Can't find it online or it's only available in print at another campus?
You can request a scanned copy via our document delivery service.
Searching help
- PubMed Search for a JournalA 5 minute online tutorial
- PubMed Simple Subject Search ExamplesA 2 minute online tutorial.
Referencing your sources 
It's important to correctly reference all your sources referred to in your writing. Here are some reasons for doing so:
- Shows how widely you have read
- Enables the reader to locate the sources you have referred to
- Supports and strengthens your arguments
- Demonstrates academic integrity
Deakin's Referencing Guide will guide you in how to correctly format all your citations and references.