Using generative AI

Articles

• Jovanović, M., & Campbell, M. (2022) Generative Artificial Intelligence: Trends and Prospects. Computer, 55(10), 107-112. https://doi.org/10.1109/MC.2022.3192720
• Liu, D., Bridgeman, A., & Miller, B. (2023, February 28). As uni goes back, here’s how teachers and students can use ChatGPT to save time and improve learning. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/as-uni-goes-back-heres-how-teachers-and-students-can-use-chatgpt-to-save-time-and-improve-learning-199884
• Hao-Ping (Hank) Lee et al, ‘The Impact of Generative AI on Critical Thinking: Self-Reported Reductions in Cognitive Effort and Confidence Effects From a Survey of Knowledge Workers’ in Proceedings of the ACM CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (ACM, 2025) <https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/publication/the-impact-of-generative-ai-on-critical-thinking-self-reported-reductions-in-cognitive-effort-and-confidence-effects-from-a-survey-of-knowledge-workers/>.

Books and e-books

• Randolph, T. (2021). Artificial Intelligence: Work, Machines and Human Interaction. SNOVA.
• Verdegem, P.E. (2021). AI for Everyone? Critical Perspectives. University of Westminster Press. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctv26qjjhj
   

Video

• Analytics Insight. (2021, January) Understanding Generative AI, Its Impacts and Limitations [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/lgDhbh_Qxys

News

• McKnight, L. (2022, Oct 14). Eight ways to engage with AI writers in higher education. Times Higher Education THE.

Reports

• Yang, F., Goldenfein, J., & Nickels, K. (2024, July 10). genAI concepts: technical, operational and regulatory terms and concepts for generative artificial intelligence (genAI). ARC Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society.

Article

• Saran, C. (2023). Is business ready to make use of ChatGPT? Generative AI models like ChatGPT promise to revolutionise the way people gather data and make informed decisions, but organisations must not underestimate what’s required. Computer Weekly, February 21, 3–5.
   

Video

• Ng, A. (2022). How AI Could Empower Any Business [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/reUZRyXxUs4
   

News

• Castaldo, J. (2023, Jan 30). AI’s business potential still to be determined, experts say. The Globe and Mail.

Articles

• Das, P., & Varshney, L. R. (2022). Explaining Artificial Intelligence Generation and Creativity: Human interpretability for novel ideas and artifacts. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, 39(4), 85–95. https://doi.org/10.1109/MSP.2022.3141365
• Pavlik, J. V. (2023). Collaborating With ChatGPT: Considering the Implications of Generative Artificial Intelligence for Journalism and Media Education. Journalism & Mass Communication Educator, 78(1), 84–93. https://doi-org.ezproxy-b.deakin.edu.au/10.1177/10776958221149577

Video

• Inside Bloomberg. (2023, February 2). Bloomberg Cornell Tech Series: Scott Belsky, Adobe's Chief Product Officer [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/jCVJKj35FQw
  This video discusses how generative AI will transform the creator economy.
   

News

• Clarke, L. (2022, August 21). When AI can make art – what does it mean for creativity? The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2022/nov/12/when-ai-can-make-art-what-does-it-mean-for-creativity-dall-e-midjourney
• Rogers, R. (2023, January 21). How to Spot AI-Generated Art, According to Artists. Wired. https://www.wired.com/story/how-to-spot-generative-ai-art-according-to-artists/

Articles

• Eaton, S.E., Mindzak, M., & Morrison, R. (2021, May 29 - June 3). Artificial Intelligence, Algorithmic Writing & Educational Ethics [Paper presentation]. Canadian Society for the Study of Education, Edmonton, AB, Canada. https://prism.ucalgary.ca/handle/1880/113569
• du Boulay, B. (2023). Artificial Intelligence in Education and Ethics. In: Zawacki-Richter, O., Jung, I. (eds) Handbook of Open, Distance and Digital Education (pp. 93–108). Springer, Singapore. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-19-2080-6_6
• Carvalho, L., Martinez-Maldonado, R., Tsai, Y., Markauskaite, L., & De Laat, M. (2022). How can we design for learning in an AI world? Computers and Education: Artificial Intelligence, 3. Article 100053. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.caeai.2022.100053.
   

Website

• TEQSA. (2023, April 4). Artificial intelligence. https://www.teqsa.gov.au/guides-resources/online-learning-good-practice/artificial-intelligence
• Liu, D. (2023, April 27). Prompt engineering for educators – making generative AI work for you. https://educational-innovation.sydney.edu.au/teaching@sydney/prompt-engineering-for-educators-making-generative-ai-work-for-you/
   

Video

• Wall Street Journal (2019, October 2). How China Is Using Artificial Intelligence in Classrooms [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/JMLsHI8aV0g

News/Blog posts

• Caldwell, J. (2023, March 6). ChatGPT and Open Education. BCcampus. https://bit.ly/3JpW5ta
• Wiley, D. (2023, January 23). AI, Instructional Design, and OER. improving learning. https://opencontent.org/blog/archives/7129

Articles

• Kather, J.N., Laleh, N.G., Foersch, S. & Truhn, D. (2022). Medical domain knowledge in domain-agnostic generative AI. npj Digital Medicine, 5(90). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41746-022-00634-5
• Zohny, H., McMillan, J., King, M. (2023). Ethics of generative AI. Journal of Medical Ethics, 49(2), 79-80. https://jme.bmj.com/content/49/2/79
• Else, H. (2023). Abstracts written by ChatGPT fool scientists. Nature, 613. 423. https://www-nature-com.ezproxy-b.deakin.edu.au/articles/d41586-023-00056-7
   

Video

• TEDx Talks. (2021, November 19). Artificial intelligence in healthcare: opportunities and challenges. [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/uvqDTbusdUU
   

News/Blog posts

• Compliancy Group. (2023, January 27). AI Rising: ChatGPT, Healthcare, and HIPAA Compliance. https://compliancy-group.com/hipaa-and-chatgpt/
• Syntegra. (2022, November 30). Syntegra Pushes the Boundaries of Generative AI in Healthcare with Recent Tech Updates. Cision PR Newswire. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/syntegra-pushes-the-boundaries-of-generative-ai-in-healthcare-with-recent-tech-updates-301690245.html

Articles & Books

• James Glissan, Advocacy in Practice (LexisNexis, 8th edition, 2025) ch 2 'Artificial Intelligence for the Advocate'. (login required)

• Mitchell Adams, GenAI for Legal Practice (Swinburne University of Technology, 2025).

• Mimi Zou et al (editors), The Cambridge handbook of generative AI and the law (Cambridge University Press, 2025).

• Anne Trimmer, 'Do lawyers have a future? Legal practice in the age of AI' (Speech, 37th Annual Sir Richard Blackburn Lecture during Law Week on 21 May 2024).

• Alysia Blackham, 'Interrogating new methods in socio-legal studies: Content analysis, case law and artificial intelligence', (2025) 50(2) Alternative Law Journal 85.

• Paul Burgess, 'The Rule of Law, Science Fiction and Fears of Artificial Intelligence' (2022) 4(2) Law, Technology & Humans 124.

• Amanda-Jane George and Julie-Anne Tarr, 'World First: An Australian Court Opens the Door to Inventor Recognition for Artificial Intelligence Systems: Introduction' (2021) 49(4) Australian Business Law Review 259.

• Melissa Perry, Benjamin Durkin and Charlotte Breznik, ‘From Shakespeare to AI: The Law and Evolving Technologies’ (2024) 98(4) Australian Law Journal 272.

• Nick Phillips and Hannah Simpson, 'Artificial intelligence (AI): the good, the bad and the unknown' (2024) 30(2) Computer and Telecommunications Law Review 29.

Courts & Government

• Federal Court of Australia (2025, April). Notice to the Profession - Artificial intelligence use in the Federal Court of Australia.
  The Federal Court of Australia AI Project Group is undergoing a  consultation process.
• Supreme Court of Victoria. (2024, May). Guidelines for litigants: Responsible Use of Artificial Intelligence in Litigation.
  These Guidelines have been developed to assist those conducting litigation in the Supreme Court.
• Country Court of Victoria. (2024, July). Responsible use of artificial intelligence in litigation: guidelines for litigants.
  Provides information about the use of artificial intelligence tools in the course of litigation.
• Queensland Courts (2024, May). The Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI): Guidelines for Responsible Use by Non-Lawyers.
  These guidelines apply to civil and criminal proceedings in Queensland courts and tribunals.
• Queensland Courts (2025, September) The Use of Generative AI: Guidelines for Judicial Officers. 
  These guidelines have been adopted by the Supreme Court, District Court, Planning and Environment Court, Magistrates Courts, Land Court, Childrens Court, Industrial Court, Queensland Industrial Relations Commission and Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal.
• Supreme Court of New South Wales (effective 3 February 2025) Practice Note SC Gen 23 – Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence (Gen AI).
  The document includes a Practice Note for litigants and a guideline for judicial officers.
• Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 2005 (NSW)
  Rule 35.3B states that Generative AI must not be used to prepare affidavits for court proceedings in New South Wales. 
• Administrative Review Tribunal of Australia 14 October 2024) Administrative Review Tribunal Code of Conduct for Non-Judicial Members.
  This Code of Conduct was made under section 201 of the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024. Part 9 is on the use of Generative AI.

• The Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration Inc. (2024). AI Decision-Making and the Courts: A Guide for Judges, Tribunal Members and Court Administrators.
  This report provides different areas where AI can be used as well as how such tools can impact core judicial values of open justice, accountability and equality before the law, procedural fairness, access to justice, and efficiency.
• Law Society of New South Wales (2024 - ). Court protocols on AI.
  This webpages contains links to law societies and court guidelines on the use of Generative AI in litigation. It is regularly updated and covers the jurisdictions of Australia, New Zealand, Canada, United Kingdom and the United States of America.
• New South Wales Bar Association. (2023). Issues Arising from the Use of AI Language Models (including ChatGPT) in Legal Practice.
  This document is intended to assist NSW barristers to understand their duties under the Legal Profession Uniform Conduct (Barristers) Rules 2015 (NSW) and the importance of their role in the administration of justice in the context of the consideration of whether to use artificial intelligence (AI) language models, such as ChatGPT, in their legal practice.
• Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner (2024) Public Statement: Use of personal information with ChatGPT.

  This is a public statement made by the Privacy and Data Protection Deputy Commissioner under section 8C(1)(f) of the Privacy and Data Protection Act 2014 (Vic) (PDP Act). This statement relates to the use of the Chat Generative Pre-Trained Transformer (ChatGPT) platform by Victorian public sector (VPS) organisations.

• Statement on the use of Artificial Intelligence in Australian Legal Practice (December 2024) - Joint statement of the Law Society of New South Wales, Legal Practice Board of Western Australia and Victorian Legal Services Board + Commissioner.
  This joint statement provides guidance to Australian lawyers on when using AI and other legal technology, lawyers must continue to comply with their professional obligations under the uniform laws.

• Law Institute of Victoria. Ethical and Responsible Use of Artificial Intelligence (August 2025)
  This guidance focuses on the use of generative artificial intelligence (“Gen AI” or “AI”) and material produced to a client, opponent, a Court  and a Tribunal. It applies to all practitioners and support staff in a law-practice and other organisations which deliver legal services.

• Victorian Bar. Guidance on the Ethical Use of Generative AI (25 August 2025)
  With the rise in the use of AI (artificial intelligence) tools, the Bar’s Ethics Committee has issued “Guidance on the Ethical Use of Generative AI” to support members with their understanding of the ethical and other risks associated with certain AI tools. The Ethics bulletin covers confidentiality and conflicts, as well as advocacy. 

• Courts and Tribunals Judiciary (England & Wales). Artificial Intelligence (AI) – Guidance for Judicial Office Holders (updated 14 April 2025).
  The refreshed guidance expands the glossary of common terms and provides additional details on misinformation, bias, quality of datasets, and other areas of concern. It also advises judges to inform litigants that they are responsible for the AI-generated information they present to the court/tribunal, just as for any other type of evidence.

News/Blog Post

• Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer, 'AI Tracker – Tracking AI law and policy globally' <https://www.hsfkramer.com/insights/reports/ai-tracker>
  Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer is an international law firm. The AI tracker webpage lists policy and legal news on the topic of Artificial Intelligence across international jurisdictions. 

• Giovanni D’Avolam 'The Curious Case of the Cases That Were Not', ICLR Blog (Blog post 9 June 2025) <https://www-iclr-co-uk.ezproxy-f.deakin.edu.au/blog/legal-profession/the-curious-case-of-the-cases-that-were-not/>

• Law Institute of Victoria, 'Artificial Intelligence Hub'. <https://www.liv.asn.au/aihub>
  The LIV Artificial Intelligence (AI) Hub provides practitioners with essential resources, best-practice guidance and links to the information that you need to know about using AI and Generative AI in legal practice.

• Josh Taylor, 'Fake cases, judges’ headaches and new limits: Australian courts grapple with lawyers using AI', The Guardian (10 February 2025) <https://www.theguardian.com/law/2025/feb/10/fake-cases-judges-headaches-and-new-limits-australian-courts-grappling-with-lawyers-using-ai-ntwnfb>

• Patrick Breen, 'Generative AI and what it means to you', LexisNexis (Blog Post, 29 January 2023) <https://www.lexisnexis.com.au/en/insights-and-analysis/practice-intelligence/2023/generative-ai-and-what-it-means-to-you>.

• Michael Legg & Vicki McNamara, 'AI is creating fake legal cases and making its way into real courtrooms, with disastrous results', The Conversation (Blog post, 13 March 2024) <https://theconversation.com/ai-is-creating-fake-legal-cases-and-making-its-way-into-real-courtrooms-with-disastrous-results-225080>

• Michael Legg, 'More people are using AI in court, not a lawyer. It could cost you money – and your case', The Conversation (Blog post, 29 September 2025) <https://theconversation.com/more-people-are-using-ai-in-court-not-a-lawyer-it-could-cost-you-money-and-your-case-264340>

Video

• 'AI and the law', ABC Law Report (Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Podcast, 15 October 2024)
• 'Generative AI & intellectual property - Whose line is it anyway?', Generative AI Miniseries (YouTube Video, 28 February 2023).

Articles

• Stokel-Walker, C., & Van Noorden, R. (2023). What ChatGPT and generative AI mean for science. Nature, 614(7947), 214-216. Doi: 10.1038/d41586-023-00340-6. PMID: 36747115.
• Brown, N., Ertl, P., Lewis, R., Luksch, T., Reker, D., & Schneider, N. (2020). Artificial intelligence in chemistry and drug design. Journal of Computer-Aided Molecular Design, 34(7), 709–715. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10822-020-00317-x
• Stokel-Walker C. (2023). ChatGPT listed as author on research papers: many scientists disapprove. Nature, 613(7945), 620-621. Doi: 10.1038/d41586-023-00107-z
   

Video

• IBM Research (2022, March 18). How can generative models fuel scientific discovery? [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/xsx14v1CRu8