Databases, journals and news
Library databases contain journals articles. Journal articles are also known as peer reviewed, scholarly, academic or refereed articles.
There isn’t one database which has everything. It’s important to search multiple databases to find the most relevant information. Our recommendations for Forensic Science databases, where you can find suitable journals, news and multimedia are below.
Tip
Need help searching the databases? There are instructions for searching the Library Databases in the Search Strategies and Tips - How to use Library Databases section of this guide.
Recommended databases
Below is a list of databases relevant to Forensic Science. If you want to explore additional databases visit the A-Z Databases.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science interface includes Web of Science Core Collections including the Arts & humanities citation index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions and Book Citation Indexes and also hosts the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (1926-2016), SciELO citation index, MEDLINE and Zoological record.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest)Biological Science Database (ProQuest) covers biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, zoology.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect provides indexing and full text of journal articles in the following subjects: Chemistry, Chemical Engineerin, Clinical Medicine, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Economics, Business and Management Science, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics,Astronomy, Social Science. Full text is only available for the journals to which Deakin University subscribes. The University has purchased a number of back issue journal sets from ScienceDirect. For many of these titles, the most current volumes will not be available in full text.
- Wiley JournalsWiley Online Library journals cover subject areas of Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Sciences, Architecture & Planning, Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
- Medline CompleteMEDLINE Complete is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, containing full text for journals.
Recommended journals
Below are some specific journals relevant to forensic science. If you are looking for a specific journal not on this list, you can search for it in the A-Z Journal and Newspapers listing.
- The Australian Journal of Forensic SciencesThe official journal of the Australian Academy of Forensic Sciences
- Journal of Forensic SciencesOfficial journal of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences
- Forensic Science InternationalAn international journal dedicated to the applications of science to the administration of justice
- Medicine, Science, and the LawOfficial journal of the British Academy of Forensic Sciences
- Journal of Forensic and Legal medicineOfficial journal of the Faculty of Legal and Forensic Medicine, the Australian College of Legal Medicine and the British Association in Forensic Medicine
- Science & JusticeJournal of the Forensic Science Society and the official publication of the California Association of Criminalists
Recommended Books
Below are some key Forensic Science resources, covering a comprehensive range of topics.
- Encyclopedia of forensic and legal medicineA four volume encyclopedia compiled by an international team of forensic specialists.
This Encyclopedia includes over three hundred chapters, with articles covering crime-solving techniques such as autopsies, ballistics, fingerprinting, hair and fiber analysis, and the sophisticated procedures associated with terrorism investigations, forensic chemistry, DNA, and immunoassays. - Forensic Science Handbook, Vol 1This comprehensive handbook focuses on the legal, evidentiary, biological, and chemical aspects of forensic science practice.
News and media
If you are looking for news and media reports, the following databases allow you to search for new articles and media recordings. If you are looking for a specific news or media source not on this list, you can search for it in the A-Z Journals and Newspapers listing.
- Press ReaderPress Reader provides access to current newspapers and magazines both locally and internationally. Just like reading the print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
- TVNewsAustralian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.