4. Search a database
What is a database?
Now that you can create a search strategy, it's time to find articles in a database. A database is an online collection of resources. Each database often focuses on a specialised area. For example, some databases may be discipline-specific such as an information technology database. Others may focus on a certain type of resource such as journal articles, videos, newspapers or images.
There isn’t one database which has everything, so it’s important to search multiple databases to find the most relevant information.
How do articles end up in a database?
Article:
An author writes an article and submits it to a journal.
Journal:
Journals review and publish selected articles.
Database:
You can access journal articles in a database.
What are the benefits of library databases?
Click on the flipcards to discover the benefits of using library databases.
Tip
If you use a search engine or Google Scholar, never pay for an article. Use the Library’s Bookmarklet Tool to access it.
Databases through Deakin Library
You have access to hundreds of databases through the Library. How do you know which databases to use? Well, it depends on your needs!
Where can I find relevant databases?
-
Access the full list of databases. Try filtering by subject area.
-
Subject specific guides with curated resources for your field. Check out the recommended databases for articles in your area.
Engineering Village
In the next activity, we’ll be searching the popular Engineering database, Engineering Village. Engineering Village contains journal articles and conference papers related to engineering research. This will be a database you'll use a lot during your degree.
Need help with using Engineering Village? Check out this video below.
Activity: Searching Engineering Village
Open Engineering Village in a new window. Enter the search strategy you came up with earlier. You can use the basic search or try the advanced search.