LibGuides: Engineering: Databases and journals

Databases and journals

Library databases contain journal articles. Journal articles are also known as peer reviewed, scholarly, academic or refereed articles.

There isn’t one database which has everything. It’s important to search multiple databases to find the most relevant information. Our recommendations for Engineering databases, where you can find suitable journals, news and multimedia are below.

Recommended databases

Below is a list of databases which we recommend for engineering. Remember that no one database has everything, so it is always a good idea to search multiple databases. For help with database search techniques, head to the Finding resources - Combine your keywords with search techniques.

ASCE Library
ASCE Library is a comprehensive tool for locating online content across all disciplines of civil engineering. The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) issues publications including journals, papers from conference proceedings, e-books and standards.
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is an engineering literature database with records across engineering disciplines. The Library has access to the Compendex subset.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides access to abstracts and full-text of: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE conference proceedings and current IEEE standards.
Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) journals
ICE Virtual Library covers every major civil and structural engineering discipline, ICE journals are a comprehensive civil engineering source. Deakin subscribes to a custom collection of titles.
Technology Collection (ProQuest)
Technology Collection allows searches across Advanced Technology & Aerospace Dabase and and Materials Science & Engineering Database.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers perspectives on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Natural Science Collection (ProQuest)
Natural Science Collection allows searches across Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database.
IMechE journals collection
IMechE journals provides access to mechanical engineering journals from 2011-2016.
ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library covers the fields of computing and information technology and includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides indexing and full text of journal articles in the following subjects: Chemistry, Chemical Engineerin, Clinical Medicine, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Economics, Business and Management Science, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics,Astronomy, Social Science. Full text is only available for the journals to which Deakin University subscribes. The University has purchased a number of back issue journal sets from ScienceDirect. For many of these titles, the most current volumes will not be available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
Web of Science
The Web of Science interface includes Web of Science Core Collections including the Arts & humanities citation index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions and Book Citation Indexes and also hosts the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (1926-2016), SciELO citation index, MEDLINE and Zoological record.

Engineering

Contact us

Related guides

Databases and journals

Recommended databases