Welcome to your Disability Studies Resource Guide
This guide contains information provided by your librarians to help you with your studies and support your research.
Read through the outlines below to learn what is covered in each section of this guide. You can navigate to each of these sections via the menu on the left.
Finding articles: Contains links to relevant databases, journals, newspapers and magazines.
Books and eBooks: Provides links to relevant books and guidance for finding and accessing eBooks.
Grey literature and Google: Contains links to relevant webpages, statistics, and legislation, as well as tips for efficiently searching Google.
Online video and image collections: Provides links to video and multimedia collections you can use in your studies.
Discover our disability support services
Did you know that Deakin offers resources and adjustments for students who are neurodivergent or living with physical or mental health conditions? These services are designed to help you thrive in your studies and university life. Learn more about our support services via the Disability Resource Centre.
Referencing
It is important that you acknowledge all the sources you use in your writing so that you:
- show your assessor how widely you have read
- provide evidence to support and strengthen your arguments and statements
- demonstrate academic integrity
- enable the reader to locate the sources referred and credit the original author(s) for their work.
Refer to the Deakin Guide to Referencing and select the correct style for your unit. If you are unsure, check with your unit chair. For specific referencing questions, you can also contact Deakin Study Support as they maintain and update the Deakin Guide to Referencing.