Online video resources
Streaming video allows for Deakin staff and students to view video online. These can include films, documentaries and instructional videos. Selected examples for Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies are listed below.
-
Sage Research Methods VideoThis online tool will help you design your research project. Includes videos on selecting appropriate research methods.
-
Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online features documentary style content. Browse videos by subject, cultural group or geographic location. Video content includes interviews, field recordings, animations, performances and also some feature films. Users have the option to create a personal account, in order to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. There is also various supporting materials available for use, including transcripts and films with attached study guides and other supporting content.
Open access images
Below are some free to access image collections that contain images relating to cultural heritage and museum studies. Many of the images found in these collections are made available under creative commons licences, which allows you to use the material in specific ways without seeking permission from the copyright holder.
Artsy
Features images from the world's leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates and more.
Google Cultural Institute
Discover artworks and collections from around the world. Browse artworks by collections, artists, place, mdeia type, etc.
Open GLAM
View collections from around the world. Browse collections or search by keyword or the tag cloud
Open Photo
This is a creative commons photo sharing platform where you can browse photos on a range of subjects, such as architecture, arts, landscapes, living spaces and much more
Always check the conditions of use before using images from these sources.
All creative commons licences require that you attribute the creator of the work.
Attribution
When you refer to or use someone else's publications or data in your research or teaching you should attribute the creator by providing a citation that includes information about the creator and source.
Visit the Attribution webpage to find information on how to format the attribution, where to put the attribution and examples for images, podcasts and streaming videos
Doran, B 2010, I come to the art museum and all I do is watch TV, photograph, retrieved 21 May, 2015 https://flic.kr/p/8H5Dn1
For information on how to correctly reference image resources take a look at the referencing guide.
Library image collections
Finding high resolution images for your assessments and creative works can be difficult. Deakin Library subscribes to several image databases that give you access to high quality images from around the world.
-
Anatomy TVInteractive anatomy and pathology 3D resource. Includes 3D animations showing function, bio-mechanics, and surgical procedures. Also MRI images, clinical slides, radiology slides, X-rays, dissection slides and videos. Images are cleared for educational use (with appropriate acknowledgement).
-
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArtstor on JSTOR is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative source of information about architecture and art including access to hundreds of related images.
Tip
To see a full list of image databases and collections go to the A-Z databases webpage for Image Databases.
Deakin provides access to image databases which are copyright cleared for educational purposes. Please ensure that you check the licensing conditions before re-use, and fully reference images.
Trove images
Find Australian image resources on Trove, including photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and more
Google Image search
You can search for images that are free to use, share and modify through a Google Image Advanced Search.
- Go to Google Images
- Enter your search terms
- Select the Advanced Search Option and narrow the results by usage rights to 'free to use, share or modify'
Online multimedia resources
Many web search engines allow an image or video specific search, however beware that online material often loses copyright information. It is best to use resources which have clear Creative Commons licences or Terms of Use which enable Deakin to use the material. Never link to or embed material which is clearly in breach of copyright.
Don't use commercial products unless Deakin has a subscription, or you are able to purchase the rights to the resource.
Youtube is a video sharing website. Many institutions have their own 'Youtube channel,' including Deakin. See YouTube Terms and YouTube Copyright.
