LibGuides: Education: Literacy

Literacy

In addition to using the key educational databases listed under Educational Databases..., here are some specific resources for Literacy.

Databases
Journals

Source
The Source is an online subject guide to Australian children's literature, with selected books from New Zealand, The United Kingdom and the United States. Poems and short stories sometimes include the full text. Brief biographical details on authors, including links to their websites, are also provided. The Source includes a comprehensive index to reviews and articles in Magpies and The Literature Base.
ProQuest Central
Excellent source of linguistics and language articles, includes Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains citations from journals, series and book publishers.

English in Australia
The journal of the Australian Association for the Teaching of English (AATE) welcomes articles in any field of language and literacy education.

The Reading Teacher
Peer-reviewed, for those involved with literacy education up to age 12. Takes an active stance on issues of education today.

Practically Primary
Designed specifically for primary classroom teachers. Each issue is full of accounts of classroom practice, practical ideas, useful resources and teacher recommendations. Produced by the Australian Literacy Educator’s Association.

Literacy Learning: The Middle Years
A publication that provides information to secondary teachers of all subjects who wish to develop students' literacy and learning competencies across the curriculum. Produced by the Australian Literacy Educators' Association.

Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
A fully peer-reviewed international quarterly journal. Since its foundation in 2001 JECL has rapidly become a distinctive, leading voice in research in early childhood literacy, with a multinational range of contributors and readership. The main emphasis in the journal is on papers researching issues related to the nature, function and use of literacy in early childhood.

Australian Journal of Language and Literacy
A peer reviewed Australian journal with a wide scope of literacy research.