In addition to using the key educational databases listed under Education Databases, here are some specific resources for Indigenous Education
Selection of literature on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander themes
Available in the Curriculum Resource Collection
Each of the following sections have resources to:
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education : an introduction for the teaching profession - Kaye Price
Two way teaching and learning : toward culturally reflective and relevant education - edited by Nola Purdie, Gina Milgate, Hannah Rachel Bell
Reform and resistance in Aboriginal education: the Australian experience - edited by Quentin Bereford et.al
Indigenous education: a learning journey for teachers, schools and communities - edited by Nina Burridge et.al
Improving Aboriginal numeracy : a book for education systems, school administrators, teachers and teacher educators - Thelma Perso
This book aims to assist in the planning of numeracy education for Indigenous students
Aboriginal art & stories - stories by Pauline McLeod ; drawings by Michael Huddleston
This book is recommended by the National Federation of Aboriginal Education Consultative Groups for use in Australian classrooms.
Teaching the Arts: early childhood and primary education- David Roy, William Baker & Amy Hamilton
This book addresses Australia's and New Zealand's curriculum. The focus is on dance, drama, media arts, music and visual arts, the book has substantial references to Indigenous culture and history.
Health and physical education: issues for curriculum in Australia and New Zealand - edited by Maree Dinan Thompson
This book addresses the Australian and New Zealand Curriculum. It has sections that focus on Indigenous interactions with the curriculum.
The Little Red Yellow Black Book - Bruce Pascoe
An introduction to Indigenous Australia suitable for use by secondary school teachers with accompanying website containing teacher's notes
Literacy and numeracy learning : lessons from the Longitudinal Literacy and Numeracy Study for Indigenous Students - Nola Purdie, Kate Reid, Tracey Frigo, Alison Stone, Elizabeth Kleinhenz
Welcome to country: An introduction to our First Peoples for young Australians - Marcia Langton
Growing up Aboriginal in Australia edited by Anita Heiss
For use with Grade 9 -12 students, teachers notes available from the publisher's website
Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages
Literature created by and used in the bilingual education in the Northern Territory. Digitised complete books created for use in schools. Some teachers notes available.
Young dark emu: a truer history - Bruce Pascoe
Australians All: A history of growing up, from the ice age to the apology - Nadia Wheatley
For secondary school students.
Indigenous Australians - Terry Hastings
This book is aimed at an upper primary audience and explores the social and civic issues faced by Indigenous Australians.
1967 referendum : commemorating 40 years of citizenship
Kit for upper primary and secondary students
Decolonizing Solidarity: dilemmas and directions for supporters of indigenous struggles - Clare Land
An essential work to be read by all non-Indigenous scholars and activists seeking solidarity with Indigenous struggles across the world.
Dark emu : black seeds : agriculture or accident? - Bruce Pascoe
Dark Emu puts forward an argument for a reconsideration of the hunter-gatherer tag for precolonial Aboriginal Australians.
Archaeologies of art : time, place, and identity - edited by Inés Domingo Sanz, Dánae Fiore, and Sally K. May
This international volume draws together key research that examines visual arts of the past and contemporary indigenous societies.
The Victorian Aboriginal Education Association
Support for teachers, students and families and authors of the Protocols for Koorie education in Victorian primary and secondary schools (2016)
Inquiry for Indigenous Science Students (Years 5 to 9)
Aimed at Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students in Years 5 to 9, this CSIRO-delivered program provides teacher professional learning to embed Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander cultural knowledges through hands-on inquiry-based projects, to increase student engagement and achievement in science.
Respect, Relationships and Reconciliation (3Rs)
Online modules 3Rs provides pedagogical and cultural resources to support faculties and schools of Education to review, revise, refresh and strengthen existing units of study to help graduates become better Indigenous educators.
Narragunnawali
Narragunnawali supports all schools and early learning services in Australia to develop environments that foster a higher level of knowledge and pride in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories, cultures and contributions.
8 Aboriginal Ways of learning : Aboriginal pedagogy. This is a pedagogy framework that allows teachers to include Aboriginal perspectives by using Aboriginal learning techniques
Bunjilaka at Museum Victoria.
Great information about Indigenous Australian culture in Victoria and the rest of Australia.
Mathematics in Indigenous Contexts Years K-6
This website is generated by the New South Wales Government to provide ideas for mathematics educators to create inclusive education practices.
Make it Count- Numeracy, Mathematics and Indigenous Learners
This website that combines existing teaching practice with resources for the teaching of Australian Indigenous students.
Moyjil
Words and phrases of the Gunditjmara language, spoken by Joel Wright - Gunditjmara man and researcher for the Victorian Aboriginal Corporation for Languages; The peak body for Aboriginal language research and reclamation in Victoria
Stolen Generations Resource Kit for Teachers and Students
From the website, "This teaching resource has been developed to introduce students from Foundation to Year 9 to the firsthand experiences of Stolen Generations survivors".
Indigenous writer Bruce Pascoe: 'We need novels that are true to the land'
News story - Indigenous writer Bruse Pascoe on why Australia's literary giants have failed
Share our Pride
This website provides a glimpse of how life looks from an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspective.
Kinship Learning Module University of Sydney.
VACCHO Website of the Victorian Aboriginal Community Health Organisation Inc.
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu sings Wiyathul
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are warned that the above video contain images, voices and names of deceased persons.
Archie Roach sings Took the Children Away
Indigenous Weather Knowledge
This site is created by the Bureau of Meteorology and covers Indigenous cultural and seasonal interactions with Australian weather.
Bringing child rights into your classroom
This is a publication from the Secretariat of National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care
SNAICC - National voice for our children
SNAICC is the national non-governmental peak body for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children.