Conducting your database search
The search planner has been designed to match EBSCO databases, making it easy for you to transfer your search strategy from the search planner into a database. On this page, we'll show you how to select, search and get the most out of the library databases.
Step 4: Choose relevant database/s for your topic
Databases are online collections of evidence (e.g. articles and reports) which are used to find credible and high-quality information on a specific area of study. Check the databases page, which will list specific databases for your subject area that are recommended by your librarians.
Video: Searching the databases
Watch the video (6:45) below which explains this process and provides further information on searching health databases.
Transferring your search into a health database
Now that you've identified which database/s you'll be searching in, you can start transferring your search strategy from your search planner into your chosen database.
As demonstrated in the image below, the search planner has been designed to match EBSCO databases, making it easy for you to transfer your search strategy.
Step 5: Add search techniques to your keywords
Two common problems you might face include finding too many results or not enough. Go back through your keywords in your search planner table and use the techniques below to broaden or narrow your search.
| Search Technique | When to use it? | Example | What it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| AND | Searching for two different concepts | Teenager AND "physical activity" | Narrows search results |
| OR | Searching for two similar concepts | Teenager OR adolescent | Broadens search results |
| Phrase searching | Searching for an exact phrase | "physical activity" | Narrows search results |
| Truncation | Searching for alternative word endings | teen* | Broadens search results |
| Brackets | Grouping concepts in a single search box | (teen* OR adolescent) AND "physical activity" | Allows grouping of keywords within a single search box |
Your Task
- Open your chosen database in a new window on your web browser.
- Enter the search you created using the search planner into the search box.
- Review the results page, if you don't find anything relelvant, follow the guidance on the 'improving your search results' page.