Skip to main content

Medical Imaging

Library Essentials for First Year Students

Library Essentials for First Year Medical Imaging Students

This guide introduces some of the resources and services the Library provides for Medical Imaging students.

However, the most important thing to remember is that if you need any assistance contact us.
We're here to help you access the information resources you need to succeed in your studies.

Medical Imaging Specific Resources

Anantomy Resources

Use these resources to improve your understanding of the human body:

  • Anatomedia
    Tutorial-style resource including four perspective options: system, region, dissection and imaging. Uses still images and includes self-test components throughout.
  • Visible Body
    3D graphics of human body allowing for manipulation of perspective and removal/addition of layers.
  • Acland's Anatomy
    Videos featuring narrated dissection of human cadaver. Include self-test quiz features.
  • Anatomy.tv
    3D graphics supplmented by diagrams, radiology, videos, and more. Includes tutorial modules.

Journal article databases

Need to "search the literature" or "find journal articles"? There are many places to look but we usually recommend starting with one of these databases:

  • MEDLINE Complete or Ovid MEDLINE or PubMed
    MEDLINE is the primary database for biomedical literature. It is available on different platforms including MEDLINE Complete which contains some full text PDF articles. Ovid MEDLINE and PubMed offer the same database with a different search interface, and links out to full text instead of a PDF embedded with an article's record. PubMed also contains a little extra non-MEDLINE content.
  • Embase
    Embase is another well-regarded source for biomedical literature. It contains MEDLINE and non-MEDLINE content. It is particularly useful for pharmaceutical-related literature.
  • Scopus or Web of Science
    These very large databases extend beyond biomedical literature which may be helpful for certain searches. In addition, the citation tracking features in Scopus and Web of Science can be used to discover influential papers.

.

Self-directed learning tools

These resources are focused on providing a textbook-style learning experience but in an engaging manner. In most cases they also have self-assessment features, something students often find helpful for identifying their strengths and weaknesses:

  • eMedici
  • An Australian-created and maintained resource focusing on clinical case studies.
  • Osmosis
    Uses flash cards, videos, multiple choice questions and other methods to deliver and assess knowledge across a range of areas.
  • HSTalks Biomedical and Life Science Collection
    A large collection of lectures delivered by experts from around the world on a range of biomedical topics. Regularly updated with new content, the lectures are often accompanied by copies of slides and other supporting learning material.

Multi-purpose publisher platforms

These resources intend to be a 'one stop shop' for information, however since they come from a single publisher it's important to remember they won't contain everything you'll need. What they do have includes eBooks, images, video, and more.
You'll likely find yourself on these platforms at some stage as they contain textbooks for several units across the School of Medicine, however it is a good idea to have a look over what else they contain regardless:

Library resource Guides

There are many more resources to help you along the way. To highlight some of these, Deakin Library has created Resource Guides for different subject areas in health, including:

Check out the other Resource Guides for Health for more detail on resources particularly useful for other disciplines.

The Process of Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a decision-making method which combines:

  • evidence from the research literature
  • a patient or population's values and beliefs
  • the context for practice
  • practitioners' own experience and expertise

Fundamentally, EBP is an approach to practice intended to guide clinical decision making. As such, there's a process to follow!

Another name for the process of evidence-based practice is "the Five A's". This diagram, based on information from "Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions", illustrates the Five A's process. Click on each of the five steps in the process to learn more about each:

Foundational Library Knowledge

Foundational Library Knowledge

Library Skills for Study

Kick-start your first year by getting a rapid understanding of some of the important principles outlined on the Library's Skills for Study page.

In particular, you'll want to understand some acronyms, words and phrases used in the academic and library context, some of which are particular to Deakin. Knowing these definitions will smooth your study journey considerably.

Tips for Finding the Evidence

The following videos offer support for developing solid skills in evidence finding, a vital aspect of evidence-based practice.

Firstly, searching through the Library collection requires a little more specificity than a standard web search. The below video outlines a fundamental: the appropriate use of Boolean operators for directing the search the way you want it to go.

This next video highlights additional searching techniques for finding relevant literature.

Postgraduate Library Modules

Returning to study after a break? Have a look at these literature searching modules to revise foundational literature searching techniques:

Item Requests

No library collection holds everything. This means there may be times where you can’t get what you need from Deakin Library.
If that happens to you, get in touch with us via the item request form and we’ll attempt to obtain a copy for you.

Managing Your References

Finally, you may like to investigate using EndNote, Mendeley or similar reference management software to help organise the results of your literature search. These programs also help when it comes time to cite others' research in your own work.

Study Support

Study Support

At Deakin, Study Support are the people to see when it comes to assistance with academic skills.

This includes referencing, writing, mathematics, assignment writing and study skills. Personalised support is available from the Writing or Maths Mentors, or Language and Learning Advisors.

Visit Study Support to learn about the help available to you when you need it, no matter what you're studying.

Getting to Know Waurn Ponds

Getting to Know Waurn Ponds

The time you spend on campus will mostly be at Waurn Ponds.
Get to know the campus library via this virtual tour:

Features of the Waurn Ponds campus library include

  • Level three contains health and medicine collection - borrow from the collection using the self-checkout machines or our Deakin Borrow app
  • Bookable group study rooms and study desks - we strongly recommend you take advantage of our expanded ‘Book a Space’ availability prior to coming on campus

You can also take a virtual tour of the Waurn Ponds campus via this video produced for Deakin’s 2020 Open Day

Good Luck with your Studies

There’s much more to learn as you journey through your course but working through the above will set you on the right path. If you ever get stuck or aren’t sure how to find what you need, contact the Library and we’ll help you out.

Good luck with your studies!