LibGuides: Free and Open Access Health Resources: Reference and Patient Information

What's on this page

Look it up - developing your understanding

Many disciplines have specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias - reference material which can provide you with a definitive explanation of core information and concepts in medicine and health.

Medscape
Medscape provides quick access to reference material, education tools and current medical news.

Medpedia
Medpedia is a wiki project which aims to provide a collaborative reference resource for medical information.

MedlinePlus
This is the US National Library of Medicine's source of health information for patients and their families.

Better Health Channel
Provided by the Victorian State Government, this is an excellent source of patient level health information.

Searching the broader web

Pogofrog
Pogofrog is an internet search engine which delivers largely medically oriented results.

For Health Practitioners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
Health information and services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders provided by the Australian Government, Department of Health and Ageing.
Australian Health Map
A state-by-state guide to health resources, statistics and information.
Clinicians Health Channel
An online information portal provided by the Victorian Government to health professionals employed in the Victorian public health sector or work in an agency primarily funded by the Department of Health, Victoria. This includes hospitals, health services, mental health services and community health centres.

This site provides access to current, accurate and reliable sources of information for all doctors, nurses and allied health professionals working in the Victorian public health sector. Check with your employer to find out whether you have access.
Department of Health – Web Resources
Australian government sites. Includes communicable diseases information, asthma, child health, diabetes, continence information, help to stay at home, indigenous health and more.
Doctor Wellbeing
An initiative of the Australian Medical Association, this website provides resources on doctors' health for Australian doctors.
Mental Health Resources
From the Australian Psychological Association. Provides links to support organisations including Black Dog Institute and Beyond Blue, and other fact sheets and services.
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (US)
An excellent collection of materials for health care professionals. Divided into sections including Lung Information, Sleep Information, Interactive Tools and Resources, and Continuing Education Opportunities. Includes applications for mobile devices such as a menu planner, a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator, and an asthma mortality map. The Clinical Practice Guidelines area deals with cholesterol, obesity, and asthma.
VicHealth
The Victorian Health Promotion Foundation, best known as VicHealth, works in partnership with organisations, communities and individuals to make health a central part of people's daily lives. The focus of VicHealth is on promoting good health and preventing ill-health.

For Patients

These resources are designed for patients. The level of information is appropriate for people without health qualifications.

Dementia Australia
Quality information and resources on dementia-related consumer health. Also includes topics related to ageing, disability and general caring.
Australian Lung Foundation
Lung Information & Patient Support resources includes links to additional resources in areas such as COPD, lung cancer, asthma, and palliative and supportive care, as well as translated material.
Australian Psychological Society (APS)
Mental health resources and assistance.
Bladder and Bowel Health
Resources to assist with the prevention and management of bladder and bowel problems for older adults, as well as children, young adults, and adults.
Cancer Council Victoria
Features fact sheets developed in consultation with medical professionals containing information on various cancer types, their diagnosis and treatment. Also includes facts sheets on support services, living with cancer, treatment and side effects.
Diabetes Australia Vic
Comprehensive and searchable website on all aspects related to diabetes. Includes information for both patients and health professionals.
Heart Foundation
Resources include information on how the heart works, making healthier choices and planning for an emergency. There are also fact sheets on common risk factors for heart disease, and information on the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment for common cardiovascular conditions.
Kidney Health Australia
Facts sheets in a number of categories, including Living with Kidney failure, Kidney Disease Treatments, Kidney Education, Indigenous Kidney Stories and Multilingual resources.
MS Australia
Information sheets in the following categories: Learn about MS, Treatments, Living well with MS and About MS in other languages.

For Carers

These resources provide information to support carers.

Australian Government, Department of Health and Ageing
Information sheet on how Aged Care Assessment Teams can help patients including what they do, how they can help, how they assess the type of care patients need, and how to find them.
Commonwealth Respite and Carelink Centres
Reliable information and guidance about health and aged care services and aged care facilities in a patient's local area.
Victorian Patient Transport Assistance Scheme (VPTAS)
Contains information for patients, claims form, publications & other resources.