LibGuides: Australian Studies: Finding articles

Recommended databases

Informit Databases

The following databases can be searched together. Select 'Change Databases' and then 'Select by Subject', tick the relevant databases and then 'Update Selection'. The most relevant databases for Australian Studies appear under the subjects: Arts & Humanities and Indigenous Peoples

APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full Text
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. The collection holds articles and index records on topics such as current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
AUSCHRON - Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events
An information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings from 1993 to the present, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
This multidisciplinary Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. With core content relating to Australia and New Zealand history and contemporary society.
Indigenous Collection (Informit)
Offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Encompassing anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.

Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.

Recommended journals

Australian Historical Studies
Australian Historical Studies deals with all aspects of the history of Australia including its global context. This Journal was formerly known as 'Historical Studies'
Journal of Australian Colonial History
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including convict history, bushranging, Aboriginal-settler relations, nineteenth century legal and medical developments, colonial nationalism and republicanism, colonial literature, imperial history, biography, and various aspects of Australia's early social, economic and political history.
History Australia
Focuses on the historical community in Australia. History Australia replaced the 'Australian Historical Association’s Bulletin', which was published between 1974 and 2003.
Australian Aboriginal studies: journal of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies
An inter-disciplinary journal promoting high-quality research in Australian Indigenous studies with a focus on culture, social groups and indigenous peoples.
Aboriginal history
Provides articles and information about Australian ethno-history, particularly in the post-contact history of Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders.
Balayi, culture, law and colonialism
Covers the relationship between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples in colonial and post colonial contexts by providing a forum for the publication of ideas, thoughts and narratives expressed in prose, poetry and other media and, academic articles.