Journals and databases
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest)Biological Science Database (ProQuest) covers biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, zoology.
- BioOne CompleteBioOne Complete covers the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection offers comprehensive core subject coverage of agriculture and agronomy, biodiversity conservation, ecology, entomology, environmental sciences, evolutionary biology, geology and paleontology, marine and freshwater biology, ornithology, plant sciences, veterinary sciences and zoology.
- GreenFILEGreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers perspectives on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
- Natural Science Collection (ProQuest)Natural Science Collection allows searches across Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database.
- REEF - Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province DatabaseREEF - Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, economics, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest)SciTech Premium Collection covers a broad range of natural science and technology resources. Specific subjects include aquatic science, biological science, environmental science, computer science, engineering, and materials science.
- Zoological RecordZoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with extensive coverage of STEM research, social sciences and humanities, anthropology, engineering, law and the sciences.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, covering Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences. This database includes some links to external full text articles.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science interface includes Web of Science Core Collections including the Arts & humanities citation index, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions and Book Citation Indexes and also hosts the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (1926-2016), SciELO citation index, MEDLINE and Zoological record.
- Austral ecology: a journal of ecology in the southern hemisphereAustral ecology is published on behalf of The Ecological Society of Australia Inc.
- Australian MammalologyA major journal for the publication of research in all branches of mammalogy. The journal’s emphasis is on studies relating to Australasian mammals, both native and introduced, and includes marine mammals in the Antarctic region.
- Conservation biology: the journal of the Society for Conservation BiologyThe Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is a global community of conservation professionals.
- Ecological management and restorationEcological management and restoration is published on behalf of The Ecological Society of Australia Inc. with start-up funding from Land and Water Resources R&D Corporation.
- Ecology & society: a journal of integrative science for resilience and sustainabilityCovers the conservation of ecosystems, landscapes, species, populations and genetic diversity; restoration of ecosystems and habitats; and the management of natural resources.
- Wildlife AustraliaPublished by Wildlife Queensland, this quarterly, 48-page full-colour Wildlife Australia magazine features articles by experts, researchers and award-winning natural history authors and showcases the photography of some of Australia’s most talented photographers.
- New ScientistNew Scientist covers the social and cultural impacts and consequences of scientific and technological discovery, not just the underlying science. The magazine carries regular features, news and commentary on environmental issues and is an acknowledged source of evidenced information from the scientific community.
- Scientific AmericanAuthoritative articles on all sciences by scientists who do the research reported. Edited for the interested layman. Features science and the citizen, computer reactions, the amateur scientists, reviews of current books in science and bibliographies.
- NewbankA text and image newspaper database featuring a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily.
Tip: Plan your search
Before you start researching for an assessment it is a good idea to put a little planning into your search strategy. This helps you save time and makes the searching process more efficient. It's also a great way to document your search strategy for future reference. Use this downloadable search planner to get started.