Explore by capability
These curated genAI resources have been categorised based on digital capability areas (JISC). Think about your work practices and the different tasks in your day. The range of things we do is diverse for all staff regardless of whether your work in primarily in teaching, research or business operations.
Use these categories to consider and then learn about how genAI could support your work through automating tasks, generating ideas or designs, and improving productivity.
Foundations
Possessing foundational capability is essential to understanding appropriateness and limitations of genAI tools. Having this capability involves:
- Awareness of genAI concepts and ethical considerations
- Identifying appropriate use cases for genAI tools
- Developing digital experimentation approaches
- Connecting the potential of genAI to your work and needs.
Explore the resources below to learn foundation genAI capabilities.
This open textbook covers a range of areas including using genAI for studies, building prompts, evaluating outputs and publishing. It includes a list of relevant tools alongside summaries and links to tutorials.
IBM: Introduction to generative AI
This resource covers the basics of generative AI and its real-world applications across various types like image, audio, text, code, and video. It primarily focuses on generative AI in different sectors and industries rather than higher education.
Deakin Library has created a suite of modules to develop your awareness and skills in using generative Artificial Intelligence (genAI).
Resource covers the basics of ChatGPT, with detailed sections on prompts for content creation and use cases.
Microsoft Co-Pilot: The art of prompt writing
Module that provides information on prompting, background information, the difference between a basic and complex prompt, and tips for prompting.
Amplify your critical thinking with genAI
This resource discusses identifying bias in AI, with a focus on using AI for critical evaluation, probing assumptions, testing information quality, and stimulating perspectives.
Data and information literacy
Data and information literacy are crucial capabilities when it comes to using genAI in work, research or study. These capabilities are key to:
- Using genAI to search, synthesise, evaluate and organise information
- Using genAI for data or media generation, analysis and synthesis
- Being aware of legal, ethical and security guidelines in data and information use
- Evaluating the quality and accuracy of AI-generated information and data
Explore the resources below to learn about data and information literacy capabilities in the context of genAI.
How to research and write using genAI
Learn to write prompts, enhance your writing style, create user personas, get advice, and summarise effectively.
GenAI tools for productivity and research
Useful resource for research, particularly for literature searching and reviews. It showcases various tools and includes demonstrations for text and image generation, along with prompting techniques.
Excel and ChatGPT: Data analysis power tips
Offers useful and practical tips on how ChatGPT can be used with Excel on formula generation, macros, and visualisation.
Excel AI - data analysis made easy
Provides a clear overview with example prompts and outputs for staff wanting to generate graphs or identify data trends, however lack confidence with Excel or want to save time.
Using AI to create H5P content
Learn how to use ChatGPT directly to create quizzes and interactive summaries in H5P.
Inclusive Learning Opportunities Through AI (ILOTA) podcast series explores the convergence of universal design for learning (UDL), artificial intelligence (AI), and accessibility, and examine ways in which we can utilise emerging technologies to enhance learning opportunities for educational designers, educators, and students.
The risks posed by Artificial Intelligence (AI) are of considerable concern to academics, auditors, policymakers, AI companies, and the public. This is a comprehensive living database of over 700 AI risks categorized by their cause and risk domain.
Creation and innovation
Creative and innovative capabilities are crucial for thinking outside of the box and adapting to changing environments. Key aspects to effectively working in a complex, evolving genAI landscape is having the capabilities needed to:
- Work with genAI to design and produce digital content in multiple formats
- Augmenting or altering existing digital content using genAI
- Enhancing your research, teaching or professional practice through application of genAI
- Understanding copyright and intellectual property in AI-generated media
Explore the resources below to build awareness of creation and innovation capabilities in genAI context.
Create images with generative AI
This module explains the uses of image generation. It breaks down the necessary components to prompt a genAI tool to produce an image.
Generative AI imaging: What creative pros need to know
A solid overview of genAI image creation, featuring demonstrations, workflow integration ideas for creating images, and legal considerations.
A fun game that encourages critical thinking to discover the prompt used to create genAI images.
Communication and collaboration
GenAI has been particularly impactful on communication. Effective communication and collaboration capabilities are essential for fostering a supportive, engaging and productive environments. Building capability in this area can lead to:
- Enhancing communication and collaboration through genAI tools
- Rapid translation (language or format) of information
- Increased participation in digital networks through lessening of administrative tasks
- Ensuring inclusivity and accessibility in AI-generated communications.
Explore the resources below to extend your communication and collaboration capabilities with genAI.
Amplify your communication skills with generative AI
This resource offers an overview of how genAI can be used in communication, with examples of prompts for emails, presentations, writing, and interpersonal communication development.
Amplify your personal brand with genAI
Enhance your personal brand with genAI by refining LinkedIn profiles and personal websites.
Learning and development
The ability to learn and develop is foundational to success in teaching, research, and professional practice. GenAI impacts in this area include:
- Using genAI for personal or professional development
- Enhancing research or discovery with genAI
- Designing or augmenting learning experiences with genAI
- Designing learning experiences focused on genAI or embedded aspects.
Explore the resources below to extend your awareness of the learning and development capabilities of genAI.
Deakin - Teaching and Learning Tools Guide
Deakin staff can browse Deakin endorsed tools by Activity or Tool type to find information on how to use them. This recently updated guide now includes info about AI integrations within the tools.
Inclusive Learning Opportunities Through AI (ILOTA) podcast series explores the convergence of universal design for learning (UDL), artificial intelligence (AI), and accessibility, and examine ways in which we can utilise emerging technologies to enhance learning opportunities for educational designers, educators, and students.
Explores how higher education providers can realise their role and responsibility in harnessing the power of generative artificial intelligence (genAI) ethically and sustainably.
Teaching and generative AI: Pedagogical possibilities and productive tensions
Discover AI’s strengths, limitations, ethical considerations, and disciplinary potential, providing nuanced discussions without simply praising or criticising AI.
TEQSA - Artificial Intelligence resources
A key teaching resource with an Australian focus, highlighting genAI in research, academic integrity, assessment design, and student perceptions.
Generative AI in Higher Education
This FutureLearn course has a UK focus. It covers AI capabilities and limitations, ethical and social concerns, impacts on higher education and employment, and prompt writing.
Use Microsoft Copilot to create training materials
Provides exercises for teachers using a genAI tool and features examples of teaching materials generated by Copilot.
Well produced series of five 30 minute videos to help experiment with genAI and prompting.
Prompting Higher Education towards AI-augmented teaching and learning practice
This commentary explores the potential of AI-augmented teaching and learning practice in higher education, discussing both the productive affordances and challenges associated with these technologies.
Using AI to create H5P content
Learn how to use ChatGPT directly to create quizzes and interactive summaries in H5P.
Identity and wellbeing
Identity and wellbeing capabilities are essential to enhancing life and job satisfaction. GenAI can support your goals in this area by:
- Effectively developing and protecting your reputation using genAI
- Managing digital workloads and reducing overload with genAI
- Recognising mental health implications associated with genAI use.
Explore the resources below to examine identity and wellbeing capabilities in the context of genAI.
AI’s role in enhancing wellbeing In the workplace and beyond
Resource offers recommendations on apps/tools for well-being, covering fitness, nutrition, and stress management. Also highlights concerns like privacy, data security, bias, and ethical issues.
The risks posed by Artificial Intelligence (AI) are of considerable concern to academics, auditors, policymakers, AI companies, and the public. This is a comprehensive living database of over 700 AI risks categorized by their cause and risk domain.