Skip to main content

Legal Referencing

Citing journal articles

The rules for citing journal articles are in Chapter 5 of the AGLC4.

Note when citing journal articles:

  • the authors name(s) should be cited in accordance with the rule 4.1 Author.
  • the title of the article should appear unitalicised within single quotation marks: rule 5.2 Title.
  • the full title of the journal is given and is italicised: rule 5.5. Journal.

Rule 5  Journal Articles

Examples

Jordan Fallow, 'Copyright, Patents and Traditional Knowledge' (2012) 25(3) Australian Intellectual Property Law Bulletin 42 ,44 .
  SM Clayton 'Void Mortgages?' [1981] Conveyancer and Property Lawyer 306   .

Element

Author Title Year Volume & Issue Journal Page Pinpoint Full stop

Rule

5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 1.1.4

 

Other Examples:

Citation (Organised by Volume Number):

June Mc Gowan, 'No One Size Fits All Windows on the Solo World' (2012) 80(9) Law Society Journal 24.

Citation [Organised by Year]:

Justine Whealing, 'Serving the Clients' [2010] (490) Lawyers Weekly 12.

 Melbourne University Law Review Association, Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018) 91.


Citing books

The rules for citing books are in Chapter 6 of the AGLC4.

Note when citing books:

  • the authors name(s) should be cited in accordance with rule 4.1 Author.
  • if the author is a judge, rule 4.1.5 Judicial Officers should be followed.
  • the title of the book should appear in italics as it appears on the title page: rule 6.2 Title.
  • translations should be cited according to rule 6.7 Translated Books.

AGLC4 Part III: Secondary Sources - 6 Books

Rule 6 Books

Example

Michael A Adams Company Law Guidebook (Oxford University Press, 2010) 123 .

Element

Author Title Publication Details Pinpoint Full stop

Rule

6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 1.1.4

 

Other Examples:

More than three authors:

Anthony Forsyth et al, Crieghton and Stewart's Labour Law (Federation Press, 6th ed, 2016) 20.

Chapter in Edited Book:

Alex Wodak, 'Drugs, Crime and Crime Reduction' in Duncan Chappell and Paul Watson (eds), Issues in Australian Crime and Criminal Justice (LexisNexis Butterworth, 2005) 197, 215.

Melbourne University Law Review Association, Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018) 98.


AGLC4 Part III: Secondary Sources - Legal Dictionaries

Rule 7.6 Legal Dictionaries: hard copy (printed) dictionaries

Examples

LexisNexis Concise Australian Legal Dictionary (5th ed, 2009) 'repudiation' (def 2) .

Element

Title of Dictionary Edition Number Year Entry Title Definition Number Full stop

 

Rule 7.6 Legal Dictionaries: online dictionaries

Examples

Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 1 February 2019) 'mention' (def 3) .

Element

Title of Dictionary Date of Retrieval Entry Title Definition Number Full stop

 

 Melbourne University Law Review Association, Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018) 118.


AGLC4 Part III: Secondary Sources - 6.4 Looseleaf Services

Rule 7.8 Looseleaf Services (also known as Online Commentaries)

Examples

CCH Australia, Australian Torts Commentary, (online at 1 February 2019) ¶7-200 .
  J W Carter, LexisNexis, Carter on Contract, (online at 1 February 2019) [04-001]

Element

*Publisher Title Date of Retrieval Pinpoint Full stop

 

* Where an author of a commentary is clearly identified, the author's name should be included before the publisher, followed by a comma.

 Melbourne University Law Review Association, Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018) 120.


AGLC4 Part III: Secondary Sources - 7.7 Legal Encyclopedias

Rule 6.3 Legal Encyclopedias: printed

Examples

LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, vol 4 (at 11 February 2019) 75 Charities, '1 Charitable Purposes' [75-1] .
  Lawbook, The Laws of Australia, vol 14 (at 11 February 2019) 14 Environment and Natural Resources, '14.10 Forests' [14.10.160] .

Element

Publisher Title of Encyclopedia volume number at full date Title Number and Name of Title Chapter Number and Name Paragraph Full stop

Rule

6.3 7.7   7.7 7.7 6.3 1.1.4

 

Rule 7.7 Legal Encyclopedias: online

Examples

LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, (online at 1 February 2019) 90 Constitutional Law, '6 Limitations on Legislative Powers' [90-2226] .
  Lawbook, The Laws of Australia, (online at 1 February 2019) 2 Administrative Law, '2.3 Access to Information' [2.3.10] .

Element

Publisher Title of Encyclopedia Date of Retrieval Title Number and Name of Title Chapter Number and Name Paragraph Full stop

Rule

6.3 7.7   7.7 7.7 6.3 1.1.4
 

Melbourne University Law Review Association, Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018) 119.