Takes a step-by-step approach to screenwriting, starting with a blank page and working through each element of the craft. Written with a delightful humour, Bauer shows the writer how to put the pieces together, taking the process of screenwriting out of the cerebral and on to the page.
Making a good script great is more than just a matter of putting a good idea on paper. It requires the working and reworking of that idea. This book takes you through the whole screenwriting process-from initial concept through final rewrite-providing specific methods that will help you craft tighter, stronger, and more saleable scripts.
A collection of essays and interviews exploring the business of screenwriting. This highly accessible guide to working in film and television includes perspectives from industry insiders on topics such as breaking in; pitching; developing and nurturing business relationships; juggling multiple projects; and more.
In this exciting and wholly original book, John Yorke not only shows that there is truly a unifying shape to narrative - one that echoes the great fairytale journey into the woods, and one, like any great art, that comes from deep within - he explains why, too.
This course will provide you with the invaluable ability to appreciate more films and TV, tell better stories, and write your own scripts. How you decide to use these limitless creative possibilities is up to you.
A Linkedin video series. Learn the basics of writing a great script, including storytelling, working with screenwriting software, and revising scripts. These filmmaking tips are designed for anyone who wants to make a short film.
The Art of Screenwriting Series With Scott Frank (Minority Report, Out of Sight, Get Shorty) and Steven Zaillian (Gangs of New York, Hannibal, Schindler's List). This program teaches how to get started, the main idea and servicing it, finding a movies spine, sources of inspiration, outlining, characters' relationship with structure, description, research, instinct vs. technique, writing a script vs. selling one. Subjects covered include: How to tell a good story, which stories are worth telling and which aren't, character arcs; real and illusory, finding a movie's spine, the use of myth and theme as organizing concepts.
This double-blind, peer-reviewed academic journal highlights current academic thinking around screenwriting and encourages a broad range of methodologies and approaches to studying screenwriting. Areas of study include the history of the form, contextual analysis, the writing process, the relationship between screenwriting and production, and how the form can be considered in terms of culture and society.
An international digital trade publication that profiles screenwriters, producers, directors and book-to-movie writers. It provides educational, how-to and feature articles for those entering the entertainment field. HS focuses on industry news, screen markets and information that appeals to writers at all levels.
Script has been the leading source for information on the craft and business of writing for film and television since 1995. With inside information, articles written by working writers and filmmakers, and in-depth interviews, Script is the resource on every scriptwriter’s must-read list.
Creative Screenwriting is an online resource for screenwriters with articles, advice and videos on all aspects of screenwriting, as reported by industry experts. Find interviews, reviews, legal information and career assistance.
Featuring interviews with writers and other industry professionals, podcasts, planning and career advice for writing in any genre, case studies on the characterisation of great heroes and villains, hundreds of screenplays available to download and much more, IFH is a great resource for aspiring screenwriters.
Founded by independent filmmakers, ISA is an international community that supports screenwriters with resources and networks. They run podcasts, reviews, classes, contests, feedback and more to help storytellers develop their skills and build a profile.
A place where aspiring screenwriters can freely ask questions, and obtain help, tips and guidance from writer and screenwriting expert Trevor Mayes. The website is a little tricky to navigate, but there is plenty of valuable information to be found, as well as detailed interviews with working screenwriters. For a fee, Scriptwrecked also provides script notes and script proofreading services.
A comprehensive list of resources for for screenwriters, playwrights, documentary filmmakers, film critics and cinephiles. Don't let the website design put you off - this is a great collection of links to help you find formatting tools; film and writers' guilds; workshops; interviews; industry news; story writing techniques and more.
This site has many one-of-a-kind tools and resources for writers, editors and teachers. There are screen-specific resources, but most of the resources will assist creative writers regardless of medium. Under Tools for Writers, find guides to character arc progression, setting planning, replacing crutch words and more. Writers Helping Writers also run webinars and contain links to many other excellent writing resources.
Screenwriting looks at the foundation on which every great film is built. Whether an original concept or an adaptation, the screenplay is the key to the success of a movie: dialogue, pacing and character development are the framework everything else hangs on. Featuring in-depth interviews with modern masters of film, this book reveals how the best scripts are written and reach the screen.
Uncover the craft and business of storytelling in this fascinating collection where 50 screenwriters share how they broke into Hollywood and transformed their ideas into blockbusters. Entertaining, informative and sometimes startling, Tales from the Script features exclusive interviews with some of film's top wordsmiths.
Writing for the Screen is a collection of essays and interviews exploring the business of screenwriting. This highly accessible guide to working in film and television includes perspectives from writers and industry insiders on pitching; developing and nurturing business relationships; juggling multiple projects; and more. It answers hard questions that aspiring writers often ask but other screenwriting manuals avoid.