LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Health

Health OERs

Where to start tips...

Remember to keep a note of all your searches because OERs can be from multiple places
Begin your search with this OER website:

MERLOT

3. Did you find a suitable resource? (If not, search the OER sites below or look for DRM-Free resources via the A-Z Databases)

Google Advanced Search

4. If found, evaluate the source

5. Check license restrictions and apply where necessary

6. Adapt and don't forget to attribute the author (if applicable)

Other Recommended Platforms

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet - includes reports, journal articles and a range of sources.
InTech Open Science Open Minds - InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology and Medicine Open Access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004.
Johns Hopkins School of Public Health: Open public health courses and materials from Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.
Lowitja Institute LitSearch - This search tool provides access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature in PubMed. Refine your search to “Open Access” or select "Free Access" and check the license of individual article before reusing the content.
MedEdPORTAL: : The Journal of Teaching and Learning Resources Open-access, peer-reviewed teaching materials for health professions education. Also includes iCollaborative, educational resources that have not undergone the formal MedEdPORTAL peer review process. MedEdPORTAL is included in Medline.
National Academies Press - many of the books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Search the Health and Medicine collection. Site requires that you provide name and email.
The Noba Project is an excellent place to start for OER psychology resources. Noba provides customizable psychology textbooks written by respected psychologists and researchers. Noba textbooks are used by colleges and universities around the world. Instructor resources include ready-made textbooks, quizzes, PowerPoint presentations, and instructor manuals.
Open Knowledge Repository - The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank's official open access repository for it's research outputs and knowledge products.
GW Nursing - has a small collection of nursing OER material.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) - The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
PLOS - Public Library of Science - Contains more than 140,000 peer reviewed open access articles, focusing on biology and medical science. PLOS authors publish under the Creative Commons Attribution License.
PubMed is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institute of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Refine your search to “Open Access” and check the license of individual article before reusing the content.

Health and Social Development

Public Health

"Health Case Studies" by Glynda Rees, Rob Kruger, Janet Morrison, British Columbia Institute of Technology (Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed / 2017)
"Exploring Health Systems Within the Context of Social Determinants of Health: A Global Health Case Study " by Norman B. Fredrick, MD, Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (MedEdPortal / Peer reviewed / 2016)

Social Work

"Social Welfare" edited by Rosario Laratta is licensed under CC BY 3.0 (Intech Open)
"Introduction to Sociology 2e" by is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (Open Stax)
"Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World" is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / 2016 / Peer reviewed)
"Social Science Research: Principles, Methods, and Practices" by Anol Bhattacherjee, University of South Florida is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 (Scholar Commons)

Medicine and Medical

Suggested textbooks:

Medicine

"Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course" by Carlos Liachovitzky, Bronx Community College is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2015 / Peer reviewed / Open Textbook Library)

Medical Imaging

"Images of Memorable Cases: 50 Years at the Bedside " by Herbert L. Fred, MD & Hendrik A. van Dijk is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (OpenStax / 2008)
"Introduction to Human Osteology" byRoberta Hall, Kenneth Beals, Holm Neumann Georg Neumann & Gwyn Madden is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed / 2010)

Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Suggested textbooks:

Exercise Science

"Anatomy and Physiology" by J. Gordon Betts et al is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (OpenStax / 2014 / Peer Reviewed)
"Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course" by Carlos Liachovitzky, CUNY Bronx Community College is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2015 / Peer reviewed)

Food Science and Nutrition

"Human Nutrition" by University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Food Science and Human Nutrition Program is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed / 2018)
"An Introduction to Nutrition" by Maureen Zimmerman and Beth Snow is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2013)

Psychology

Suggested textbooks:

Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology student and other beginners Navarro DJ and Foxcroft DR (2019). (Version 0.70). DOI: 10.24384/hgc3-7p15 CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
The Australian Handbook for Careers in Psychological Science Tony Machin; Tanya Machin; Carla Jeffries; and Nancey Hoare, University of Southern Queensland. Licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
"Research Methods in Psychology Subtitle: 4th edition" by Rajiv S. Jhangiani, I-Chant A. Chiang, Carrie Cuttler, and Dana C. Leighton is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Peer Reviewed)
"Principles of Social Psychology – 1st International Edition" by Dr. Charles Stangor is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (BC Campus / Merlot II)
"Essentials of Abnormal Psychology " by Alexis Bridley and Lee W. Daffin Jr., Washington State University is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2018 / Press Books)
"Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection" by Robert Biswas-Diener and Ed Diener is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2016 / Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed)
"Psychology " by Dr. Rose Spielman, Kathryn Dumper, William Jenkins, Arlene Lacombe, Marilyn Lovett and Marion Perlmutter is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (OpenStax / 2014 / Peer reviewed)
" Introduction to Psychology" by Dr Charles Stangor is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (2015 / Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed)
"Educational Psychology" by Kelvin Seifert of University of Manitoba and Rosemary Sutton from Cleveland State University is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed / 2009)
"Mind, Body, World: Foundations of Cognitive Science" by Michael R. W. Dawson, University of Alberta is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 (Peer reviewed / 2013 / Open Textbook Library)
"Instruction in Functional Assessment" by Marcie Desrochers and Moira Fallon, State University of New York is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / 2014 / Peer reviewed)

Nursing and Midwifery

Suggested textbooks:

"Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care" by Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon is licensed under CC BY 4.0 - was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting. (BC Campus Open Ed)
"Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions" by Sherri Melrose PhD, RN, Athabasca University is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. (BC Campus Open Ed)
"Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing" by Edited by: Dr. Joan Wagner, University of Regina is licensed under CC BY 4.0
"Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know" by Susan E. Lowey is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Open Sunny Textbooks)
"Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care " by Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon, British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) is licensed under CC BY 4.0 (2015 / BC Campus)
"Field Trials of Health Interventions: A Toolbox" by Peter G. Smith, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine Richard H. Morrow, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health David A. Ross, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0 (Open Textbook Library / Peer reviewed / 2015)
Monitoring Diabetes and High Blood Pressure: Improving lives by inspiring change by Dr. Stella Nemusesco CC BY 4.0 (2021)

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Health OERs

Where to start tips...

Other Recommended Platforms

Health and Social Development

Public Health

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

Child Play Therapy

Disability Studies

Social Work

Medicine and Medical

Suggested textbooks:

Medicine

Medical Imaging

Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Suggested textbooks:

Exercise Science

Food Science and Nutrition

Psychology

Suggested textbooks:

Nursing and Midwifery

Suggested textbooks: