Skip to main content

EndNote

Add references to EndNote

There are three ways to add references into EndNote library:

1. Export references from databases

An efficient way of adding references to your EndNote library is to export them directly from online research databases. The procedure for exporting references from research databases can vary across different databases. Instructions for direct export for a number of key databases are provided below:

ACM Digital library  ARTstor  BioMed Cambridge 
Cochrane EbscoHost Google books Google scholar
IEEE Xplore Informit JSTOR Newsbank
Ovid Database Oxford Journals Proquest PubMed
Sage Journals Sciencedirect SciFinder Scholar Scopus
Springerlink Taylor and Francis Web of Science Wiley Online Library

See instructions below for exporting references from our website:

1. Library Search: a search of the library's collection and huge range of databases

 Mac                 Windows

2. Library Catalogue: a general search of the library's books, e-books, DVDs and some articles

 Mac                 Windows

3. Deakin Research Online (DRO): our institutional repository containing works produced by Deakin researchers 

 Mac                 Windows

N.B. If you are using EndNote X6 or earlier versions you need to add Deakin import filters to your EndNote Filter folder. See the first question in EndNote software FAQs page for more information.


Video: Export references from online databases

Watch the video below for instructions on how to export references from different research databases.

2. Import references from PDFs

To import PDF journal articles into your EndNote library:

  1. Select FileImportFile
  2. Click on Choose to select the PDF saved on your computer
  3. Select PDF from the drop-down menu next to Import Option
  4. Click Import. A new reference will be created in your library with the PDF file attached to the reference

*In some cases a blank reference will be created in your library with the PDF attached. This happens when there is no DOI associated with the article. In these situations, you will need to manually add the reference details into the record. Alternatively, you may prefer to search for the reference in a database and export the article into EndNote.

N.B. More information about importing PDFs into EndNote can be found in Working with PDFs page of this libguide.

3. Manually add a reference

You can manually add references into your EndNote library if the reference is not available online to import. To create a new reference:

  1. Click on the add references icon in the top toolbar OR go to References and select New Reference (or Ctrl+N)
  2. Select the Reference Type from the drop-down menu (e.g., Journal Article, Book, Conference Paper, Webpage)
  3. Enter reference details in the relevant fields (e.g., Author, Title, Year, Volume, Issue  etc.) *For more information about manually entering a reference, scroll down to the box below 'Tips and rules for manually entering reference details'
  4. When done, click on the internal cross button which will automatically prompt you to save your reference OR go to File and select Close Reference (or Ctrl+W) which will also prompt you to save.
    N.B. If you click the outer cross button you will close down the whole library and your new reference may not be saved.
  5. Click Yes

Tips for manual entry of references

Reference type

  • The first step when manually entering a reference is to choose the reference type (e.g. webpage for government websites)
  • The selected reference type will determine the fields of information that will be available (i.e. journal name field will only be visible when journal article reference type is selected)

Authors

  • Enter Author Surname followed by a comma and then first name (or you can enter initials with a full stop after each initial). For example Brown, John or Brown, J.
  • Enter only one author on each line
  • Enter corporate authors (i.e. name of an organisation) with a comma at the end of the name, for example Australian Bureau of Statistics,
  • If a comma is required within a corporate name, use two commas within the name, and a single comma at the end, for example Deakin University,, Geelong,

Dates

  • Use the Year field to enter the year of publication
  • Use the Access Date field to enter the date you accessed a resource, when required (e.g. when using a website). You must enter the access date exactly as you would like it to appear in your reference list as EndNote does not reformat the access date fieldEndNote does not reformat the access date field

Titles

  • Use the Title field to enter the name of the publication. Do not use full stops at the end of titles
  • Use the Journal field to enter journal name. Enter journal names in full, do not abbreviate
  • Use capitalisation as required by the referencing style. Do not apply any other formatting (e.g. italics) as EndNote will do this automatically

Volume/Issue and page numbers

  • Use the Pages field to enter page numbers for journal articles or books, either in full (i.e. 220-225) or abbreviated (220-5). The referencing style you choose will format the page numbers as required
  • Use the Volume and Issue fields to enter the volume and issue number for journal articles
  • Use the Edition field to enter the edition for a book. Only type the edition number, EndNote will automatically add edition or edn. as specified by your referencing style

Other useful fields

  • Use the Rating field to rate each of your references out of 5 stars
  • Use the Research Notes field to record your own notes about the reference including paraphrasing of the key points, important quotes etc.

Video: Manual data entry in EndNote