Skip to main content

EndNote

Managing the referencing style and bibliography in EndNote program

What are referencing styles?

Citations in your document will appear in two parts: in-text citation in the body of the document and the reference list located at the end of the document, which gives full bibliographic details for the in-text citation. The way these two parts appear in the document is defined as a referencing output style.

Each faculty, journal, lecturer, book publisher etc. may require material to be presented using their preferred style. EndNote makes it very easy to do this - either at the time of writing or at any stage of your draft.

Change bibliographic output style

As you add references to your library, you are able to view, preview and change your styles to accord to referencing conventions.

There are two ways to change the referencing style in EndNote: by using the drop down menu in the toolbar, or by using the Edit menu.

Using the drop-down menu

  1. From the referencing style drop-down menu in EndNote toolbar, select the desired style
  2. If your favourite style is not listed there, choose Select Another Style
    This will open a comprehensive list of output styles
  3. Select a new style, and click Choose

 

  • The selected style will appear in the drop-down menu in the toolbar

Using the Edit menu

  1. From the menu bar select Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
    This will open the same comprehensive list of output styles
  2. Choose the output style(s) and close the window
    It now appears in the drop-down menu in the toolbar

N.B.

  • For information about changing the referencing style in MS Word please see Choose referencing style section in the EndNote & Microsoft Word page.
  • If your style is not listed here you will need to click Get More on the Web… where there is a selection of more than 5000 styles
  • To download Deakin styles, please see the box below
  • Vancouver style users need to add the Medical journal term list to the library for journal abbreviations. Please refer to the Journal Abbreviations page.
  • If an EndNote style is not correctly configured to meet your publishing requirements you can edit that style (scroll down this page for instructions).

Create a bibliography

There are two ways to create a bibliography of your selected references as a text file:

Method 1- Export as a .rtf file

  1. Highlight the references in your library
  2. Select Export from the File menu
    OR from the toolbar click on

3. Name your file and select file type .rtf (Rich Text Format) from Export file name dialog box

4. Select bibliographic Output style then click Save

5. The file opens as an .rtf in Word and can be edited and saved as a Word document

Method 2- Copy to MS Word

  1. Highlight the references in your library
  2. From the Edit menu click on Copy formatted (or Ctrl + K)
  3. Paste in Word

N.B. an example for creating a bibliography of references from EndNote library for LaTeX has been provided in the box Create a .bib file.

Add a new referencing style

Thousands of referencing styles (output styles) are available in EndNote. You can add more referencing styles in addition to the popular styles that are included by default in EndNote. Referencing styles can be downloaded from the EndNote - Output Styles page. Any referencing styles downloaded from this page must be saved into your EndNote Styles folder on your computer:

  1. Download the output style file from EndNote - Output Styles page or your chosen journal's website
  2. Open the downloaded file with EndNote program
  3. From File menu select Save as then click Save (NB: the default style name will have Copy added to the end of the name, i.e. deakinu-harvard-2013-Copy. You can change the name of the style when saving it to anything you want, for example, removing Copy from the name [as shown below] or naming the style something that makes sense to you)

Examples of Deakin styles

The referencing styles most commonly used at Deakin University are APA 6th (American Psychological Association, 6th edition), Harvard, Oxford, Vancouver and Deakin-clin-exp-optometry style.

The Deakin modified styles are customised styles for Deakin students and staff outlined in Deakin guide to referencing, produced by Student Life's Language and Learning Advisers and Research Librarians.

The deakinu-harvard-2013 style and deakin-vancover-2013 style are included in the EndNote X8/X9 installation package available from ITS Software Library and is available in all ITS computer labs. Some other styles do not come as part of the installation for the EndNote X8/X9 program.

If the style you want does not included as part of the installation please follow the steps below:

  1. Download the output style file from the table below
  2. Open the file with EndNote program
  3. From File menu select Save as then click Save (NB: the default style name will have Copy added to the end of the name, i.e. deakinu-harvard-2013-Copy. You can change the name of the style when saving it to anything you want, by for example, removing Copy from the name [as shown below] or naming the style something that makes sense to you)

 

Deakin output style Adapted from
deakinu-harvard-2020 Harvard author-date style
deakinu-vancouver-2013 Vancouver numbered style
deakin-clin-exp-optometry The journal Clinical and Experimental Optometry referencing style
deakinu-APA 6th APA 6th (American Psychological Association) author-date style
deakinu-Numbered-2014 Royal Society of Chemistry referencing style

Are you looking for the APA 7th style?

While a "Deakin" version of this style is not yet available for Endnote, you can download the official style created by the American Psychological Association (APA) from the Endnote website.

Edit or modify a style

If an EndNote style is not correctly configured to meet your publishing requirements you can edit that style:

From the Edit menu select Output Styles then select Open Style Manager

  1. In the EndNote Styles window, highlight the style you want to edit
  2. Click Edit and the output style will open in a new window where you can edit that style using the menu options in the toolbar on the left

To change the appearance of in-text citations:

In the left toolbar under Citations select the aspect you want to change and make desired modifications

To change the appearance of the bibliography:

In the left toolbar under Bibliography select the aspect you want to change and make desired modifications

e.g. you can change the bibliography template for any reference type in EndNote. Select Template under Bibliography, highlight the reference type you wish to modify:

  • to add new fields or special characters click on Insert Field
  • to alter punctuation type or delete them as required
  • to change the formatting use Edit menu options or keyboard shortcuts

N.B. don't forget to save your changes as a copy to leave the original referencing style unchanged. Click on modifying an output style for more details and examples.

Video: Editing an output style