LibGuides: Literature and Writing: Finding articles (literary criticism)

General literature and writing databases to find academic articles and to deepen your knowledge

MLA international bibliography
Search for journal articles on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Check out their online videos to learn more about some powerful tools to help improve your searching in this database: www.mla.org/Publications/MLA-International-Bibliography/Tutorial-Videos

Literature Online
Search via author, by different types of literary forms or literary periods. The Reference section also includes a long list of useful literature texts, including the Penguin Classics Introductions, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literacy Terms, and much more.
Literature Criticism Online
Access a massive collection of literary criticism. Includes Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Very Short Introductions
These are concise introductory texts to key topics. To view the full range click on Literature, under Browse

JSTOR's Understanding Shakespeare tool
Find articles on Shakespeare. Choose a play, click on a line, and this handy tool connects you to relevant articles in JSTOR.

Australian Literature

AustLit
AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature and works by Australian authors, published from 1780 to the present.
Literature & Culture Collection (Informit)
Offers access to a range of literary magazines that help define Australia's literary and cultural heritage.

Westerly
Access the archive of Westerly Journal from 1956 to the present.

Linguistics and Language

Language and Linguistics Compass
Search here for all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.

A selection of academic journals for literature

To find more literary studies journals and journal articles, search in the online resources listed under Recommended databases.