Skip to main content

Politics and International Studies

Sources to find journal articles

The databases listed below provide a good base of scholarly literature for those wishing to study Politics and International Studies.

Academic Search Complete (on EBSCOHost)
Academic Search Complete provides full text material from publications in social sciences, humanities, general science, engineering, medical education, multicultural, and other journals.
Licensing and Resource Information

APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text
Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
Licensing and Resource Information

Political Science : A SAGE full-text collection
The Political Science database provides articles on subject areas including General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication and more.
Licensing and Resource Information

Proquest Central
Proquest Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy,
Licensing and Resource Information

 

If you are looking for global security information try:

MilitaryNetbase
A searchable e-book collection. Need to tick full access content box to limit to Deakin subscribed texts.
Licensing and Resource Information
 

See the A-Z Database List to search all databases by subject.



Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.


Key e-Journals


What is a scholarly journal?

A scholarly journal is a publication in which experts in a field submit articles.  This is one of the primary means through which many disciplines discuss new findings, ideas and research.

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly articles can also be referred to as academic or peer reviewed articles. They are written to inform or report research to a scholarly audience, and therefore tend to use technical language.

Many of these articles have been through a peer review process. They contain an abstract along with a list of references or other readings.

What does peer review mean?

Evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field.

For help finding a particular journal or journal article, visit the Skills for Study help page