Skip to main content

Reference Resources - Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks

The library provides access to thousands of online reference titles. This guide incudes conversion calculators, statistics, company data, directories and more.

Bibliographical Resources

Who's Who in Australia
Publisher description: "The complete reference guide to prominent Australians and Australian businesses." Licensing and Resource Information.

Biographical Dictionary
According to the site: "This dictionary covers more than 28,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day." It also provides links to other sites containing biographical information.

Who2?
Who2? provides information on famous figures such as birth and death dates, famous works and notorious trivia. For each figure, it also selects the four best internet sites for additional detail. The site includes figures such as classic authors, movie stars, famous frauds, kings and queens, mythical gods and cartoon dogs.


Companies and Industries

Companies and Industries Library resource guide
A Library resource guide to companies and industries that provides an introduction to key sources of information as selected by Deakin University Library staff.


Directories

Directory of Australian Association
This directory provides details for local associations, as well as local branches of International associations.  Licensing and Resource information

Kompass Business Directory
Kompass online business directory provides access to information on businesses, suppliers, services and products worldwide. The database can be searched by product or service, Company name, Trade name, and Executives. Searches may be limited by country or world regions.

Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Margaret Gee's Australian Media guide provides listings for print, electronic media, publications and base advertising rates. Licensing and Resource Information.

National Guide to Government
The National Guide to Government contains detailed listings of the Senate, Parliamentary departments and Cabinet and Shadow ministries and provides easy access to all key contacts in Government. Licensing and Resource Information.

The Australian Local Government Guide
The Australian Local Government guide contains detailed listings of local councils throughout Australia. Contact details and a range of other useful information such as council expenditure/budgets, population, emergency services and regional industry can also be found in this guide. Licensing and Resource Information.