Skip to main content

Reference Resources - Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks

The library provides access to thousands of online reference titles. This guide incudes conversion calculators, statistics, company data, directories and more.

Encyclopedias, Almanacs, Factbooks and Yearbooks

Oxford Reference Online Premium
The Oxford web site describes Oxford Reference Online as: "The Core Collection contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Licensing and Resource Information.

Britannica Online
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online is a complete search tool providing access to multiple resources from one location. Contents include encyclopaedia articles, multimedia, related web sites, magazines and Merriam-Webster's dictionary and thesaurus. Licensing and Resource Information.

CredoReference
"Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service and includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of the world's best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature" Licensing and Resource Information


Year book, Australia
Year book Australia provides a comprehensive statistical overview of various aspects of Australian economy and social conditions. It offers descriptive matter dealing with Australia's geography and climate, government, international relations, defense, education and health and welfare support systems.

The World Factbook (CIA)
The World Factbook is produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence. The Factbook is a comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities.

The World almanac and book of facts
The World Almanac and book of facts provides a wealth of authoritative, completely up-to-date information on every subject imaginable. <.

A guide to countries of the world
A global handbook containing separate entries for every country in the world and provides an overview of the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country.


Statistics and Conversion calculators

Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics
The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistics ranging from census data to business, environment, social services, health, education, demography and crime. It also provides links to a range of other Australian and international statistical sites.

Australian Statistics on the Internet
Produced by the National Library of Australia


Conversion Calculators

The following links are examples of sites that contain conversion calculators for units such as length, temperature, speed, volume, weight, date/time, cooking measures, area, fuel economy and currency.


Maps

Google Maps provide directions, interactive maps and satellite and aerial imagery.