Journal articles
Using peer-reviewed or academic journal articles for a particular topic are common in university assessments. Databases allow you to search large collections of journals to find articles. This is better than searching in individual journals. Recommended key databases with peer reviewed or academic articles are:
- EBSCO Selected databases (Deakin College)Browse Deakin University's current EBSCO databases for Deakin College students, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and Medline, as well as a full range of e-books.
- Business Collection (Informit)The Business Collection covers theoretical and practical aspects of business in multiple contexts. The collection covers a range of contemporary business issues including business law, economics, employment, finance, management, organisational psychology, taxation and training.
- Emerald InsightEmerald is a comprehensive journal collection which provides access to the very latest business and management titles. Access journals from subject areas, including, LIS, Engineering, Marketing, Health Care, Management and Accounting and Finance.
- Gale DatabasesGale Databases searches includes Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, LEGALTrac and more.
Peer reviewed articles
What does peer review (academic) means?
Peer review means a formal review process prior to publication to ensure articles are academic in nature and meet specific criteria. They are written to inform or report research to an academic audience, and therefore tend to use technical language.
Many of these articles have been through a peer review process. They contain an abstract along with a list of references or other readings.
How do you decide if an article is peer reviewed (acdemic)?
Most databases have a search option to limit the search results to peer reviewed /refereed / scholarly articles
Video: Peer Review in 2 minutes
Click the play button below to watch the video on Peer Review in 2 minutes (01:47).
Market research and industry reports
Market industry research provides data, trends and insights into a market. It is an important component of marketing strategy. Statistics and market research data help companies and businesses make informed decisions to understand potential customers, trends and the competitor landscape. It also provides an overview of consumer needs, wants, beliefs and behaviour.
Market industry reports are not easily available without a subscription or paying lots of money to buy them. Search the databases on issues and trends using keywords from the assessment. Then identify the industries and companies that focus on these areas.
- EBSCO Selected databases (Deakin College)Browse Deakin University's current EBSCO databases for Deakin College students, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and Medline, as well as a full range of e-books.
- Business Source Complete (Deakin College)MarketLine industry and country profiles are available from Business Source Complete. For company information, select 'Company Profiles' from the 'More' drop-down menu in the toolbar). Country reports are also available in this database
Help! There are no market research reports about the industry!
So what do you do? Market industry reports are not easily available without a subscription or paying a lot of money to buy them. It is easy to Google the name of the industry and find numerous reports available online - all for a certain amount of money. It is not practical (and very expensive!) for the Library to buy every market research report database.
If you believe there is nothing relevant, you may like to re-think and look more broadly at the industry. One way of doing this is to search EBSCO Selected databases (Deakin College) on issues and trends using keywords from the assessment. Then identify the industries and companies that focus on these areas.
Newspapers, magazines and media
Newspapers, magazines and media resources are a great source of information. They are not academic, but are general enough for anyone to understand.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
- EBSCO Selected databases (Deakin College)Browse Deakin University's current EBSCO databases for Deakin College students, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and Medline, as well as a full range of e-books.
- TVNewsAustralian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.
- Informit EduTVAustralian broadcast television content from 2006 onward - including TV shows, feature films and documentaries.