Databases for scholarly and non-scholarly resources
Journal articles
Using peer-reviewed journal articles for a particular topic are common in university assessments. Databases allow you to search large collections of journals to find articles. This is better than searching in individual journals. Recommended key databases with peer reviewed articles are:
- Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)Business Market Research Collection cover business, economic and market research and includes access to Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports and Snapshots.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database.
- Emerald InsightEmerald is a comprehensive journal collection which provides access to the very latest business and management titles. Access journals from subject areas, including, LIS, Engineering, Marketing, Health Care, Management and Accounting and Finance.
- Wiley JournalsWiley Online Library journals cover subject areas of Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Sciences, Architecture & Planning, Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
Licensing information: Please read what you can and can't do with each resource in the A-Z Databases under 'License Information'. Queries can be sent to the Publisher Licensing Consultant.
Market research and industry reports
Market and industry research provides data, trends and insights into a market. It is an important component of marketing strategy. Statistics and market research data help companies and businesses make informed decisions to understand potential customers, trends and the competitor landscape. It also provides an overview of consumer needs, wants, beliefs and behaviour. Key databases with market industry reports are recommended below:
- IBISWorldIBISWorld's Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC) include a definition of the industry, key statistics, critical factors for success, information on the major players, market characteristics, industry segmentation and industry outlook.
- PassportThis online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries.
- Proquest One BusinessProQuest One Business is designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students. It delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.
- WARCWARC is a comprehensive marketing information service. Warc provides marketing and communications case studies, research papers, conference reports and authoritative forecasts of advertising expenditure for all major economies used by researchers worldwide.
- StatistaStatista is a database consists of market data of more than 600 industries. Provides access to relevant data from numerous source and provides with a list of statistics, studies and reports relating to a search request within a matter of seconds.
Help! There are no market research reports about the industry!
So what do you do? Market industry reports are not easily available without a subscription or paying a lot;of money to buy them. It is easy to Google the name of the industry and find numerous reports available online - all for a certain amount of money. It is not practical (and very expensive!) for the Library to buy every market research report database. If you believe there is nothing relevant from Passport or IBISWorld, you may like to re-think and look more broadly at the industry. One way of doing this is to search the databases on issues and trends using keywords from the assessment. Then identify the industries and companies that focus on these areas.
Newspapers, magazines and professional articles
Newspapers, magazines and professional articles are written for a general audience, but are also a great source of information for social issues, popular culture, current/past events, editorials and opinions. While most of these do not reflect in-depth research, professional articles are usually written with a particular industry/profession in mind. But they are still general enough for anyone to understand these articles.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
- News Limited NewspapersFirst time users: Register for your digital subscription using your Deakin email address.
For subsequent use: Once you have setup your account, go to Geelong Advertiser or The Australian and login. To view print layout select Digital Print Edition option. You will also have access to the following newspapers: The Herald Sun, The Daily Telegraph, The Courier Mail, The Advertiser (Adelaide), Cairns Post, Gold Coast Bulletin, NT News, Townsville Bulletin, and The Mercury.