Skip to main content

Legal Research Basics

The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot

 

28th Vis Moot Problem                                                                                       

Swiss Chambers' Arbitration Institute Rules

MLL355 Reading List

 

 

 

 


Databases and Journal Collections

HeinOnline contains the Law Journal Library and Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. For best results, use 


ICC Digital Library

 

ICC Dispute Resolution Channel  is a dynamic and searchable online service provided by the ICC International Court of Arbitration containing more than 1000 relevant documents from its established publications on arbitration.[Note: additional login required. Link redirects to Deakin Library's passwords page].


 

JURIS Arbitration Law  provides access to 11 arbitration journals, treaties, practice manuals and monographs. The platform covers all aspects of the arbitral process and trial advocacy for researchers and lawyers-in-training.


KluwerArbitration is an excellent resource for international arbitration research, containing commentary and primary source materials, including ICC cases and awards.

Kluwer Law Online contains journals and manuals on a wide range of topics including arbitration, business and commercial law, company and corporate law and international trade law.


International Commercial Arbitration includes texts covering key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions as well as officially recognized and endorsed texts covering the rules of particular arbitrage bodies and key treatises.


Private International Law provides access to leading works on international commercial arbitration. Select  for texts covering key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions, officially endorsed texts providing coverage of arbitral rules and key treaties.


‚Äč

Oxford Journals Online contains a wide range of law journals, including Arbitration International and Arbitration Law Reports and Review. For best results, use 


 

Transnational Dispute Management - TDM is a peer-review online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. 


Westlaw UK contains journals, case law, legislation and EU materials.


WorldTradeLaw.net provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations, dispute settlement tables and statistics, WTO cases, legal texts and other documents. Access is only available for open-access content.


Key texts

Key texts not available electronically are placed on Burwood Library Reserve for use by Deakin Vis mooters.


Kluwer Arbitration ebooks contains an extensive range of expert commentary. 

Other texts of interest:

Centre for International Legal Education, University of Pittsburgh, A Guide to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (Centre for International Education, 2013).

Jorge Risse (ed), The Complete but Unofficial Guide to the Willem C Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (4th ed, Beck, 2017).

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law  

A bibliography of books and articles by Ingeborg H. Schwenzer is on the Ingeborg Schwenzer Counsel & Arbitrator website.


Primary sources databases

The CISG Advisory Council is a private initiative which aims to promote a uniform interpretation of the CISG.

 
 
 

The Electronic Information System for International Law contains a section on International Dispute Settlement:

 

 

International Institute for the Unification of Private Law:  Check section on for the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts.

 

 


Pace Law Institute of International Commercial Law: The UNCITRAL Digest of Case Law on the CISG
(Free registration available)

 

 - UNCITRAL Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)

UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules

UNILEX on UNIDROIT Principles and CISG International Case Law and Bibliography