Skip to main content

Legal Research Basics

Tax Handbooks

Australian Tax Handbook
To access the online version of the Australian Tax Handbook  follow the Checkpoint link from the catalogue record.

Australian Master Tax Guide
This link takes you to all editions of the Master Tax Guide from 1999 to date.

Tax Questions and Answers
This links take you to a 2020 edition of an e-book published by Thomson Reuters.


General Information

The following links will be helpful in locating cases, tax rulings and legislation.

Australian Taxation Office 

Australian Taxation Law Library

This library provides one searchable location of the tax-related resources on AustLII - including legislation, case-law, legal scholarship and treaties.

Australian Government Treasury
Contains Parliamentary progress of Tax Bills and Australian tax treaties.

Federal Register of Legislation
Authorised versions of Commonwealth legislation and related documents.


Databases

AGIS Plus Text  
Covers Australian law journals.

Checkpoint 
Includes cases, legislation, commentary, journals and news.

CCH Intelliconnect
Select the Tax Library for legislation, rulings, Australian Tax Cases, the Master Tax GuideAustralian Federal Income Tax Reporter and other materials.

Informit - Business Collection
Covers accounting, commerce, finance, business (general), economics and taxation.

Newspaper Databases

Factiva
An international news database sourced from over 200 countries. It includes:

  • national, international and regional newspapers (including the Australian Financial Review)
  • magazines
  • newswires
  • podcasts
  • company reports

Newsbank
Full text of local, regional and national Australian newspapers (excluding the Australian Financial Review). Selected international coverage.


Legislation

Commonwealth Legislation is available via the Federal Register of Legislation. This is the site for authorised versions of legislation.

Legislation from databases:

CCH Intellliconnect
Contains federal tax Bills and legislation and some state legislation.

Checkpoint 
Contains federal tax Bills and explanatory memoranda and legislation.

LawNow on Lexis Advance 
Covers all Australian jurisdictions.