Prescribed & Recommended Texts
-
-
Australian Family Law by Publication Date: 2015 -
Nutshell : Family Law by Publication Date: 2019Lawbook Co. Nutshells are the essential revision tool: they provide a concise outline of the principles for each of the major subject areas within undergraduate law.
Legislation
Marriage Act 1961 (Cth)
(Access provided via Federal Register of Legislation)
Family Law Act 1975 (Cth)
(Access provided via Federal Register of Legislation)
Family Law Rules 2004 (Cth)
(Access provided via Federal Register of Legislation)
Family Violence Protection Act 2008 (Vic)
(Access provided via Victorian Legislation)
Lawlex provides links to authorised legislation for all Australian States and Territories.
Australian Family Law Act Partner via CCH Intelliconnect provides each section of the FLA 1975 and, where applicable, regulations, commentary, cases and forms and precedents.
Locating the legislation in LawNow (Lexis Advance) provides links to related cases and commentary.
Useful websites
Online resources
Australian Family Law Reports (Lexis Advance)
Australian Encyclopedia of Forms & Precedents (Lexis Advance)
Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis Advance) 205 Family Law
Laws of Australia (Westlaw AU) 17 Family Law
Contact us
Family Law Practice Area
Australian Family Law - CCH Australia IntelliConnect
|
|
Comprehensive Family Law Library including:
|
The Family Law Book
The Family Law Book has been designed to take you quickly to a concise but comprehensive statement of Australian family law and procedure, with extracts from key legislation and leading case law. [NOTE: this database works best with the Mozilla Firefox internet browser].
The Family Law Book is used by family lawyers around Australia as an essential and time saving tool containing all you need to know about routine family law with practical guidance as to how to prepare a family law case or negotiate an agreement.
Use the search option 
or contents bar at the right of the screen:
LexisNexis Practical Guidance: Family Law
Practical Guidance: Family Law
LexisNexis Practical Guidance titles provides access to a broad collection of guidance notes, commentary, checklists, precedents, forms, cases and legislation.
LexisNexis have produced a short [length: 02:49] video to give you a visual overview of using the Practical Guidance series.
Lawyers Practice Manual
Lawyers Practice Manual Victoria - Westlaw AU
- The Lawyers Practice Manual Victoria is a procedural guide which deals with the everyday questions of legal practice and procedure.
- The manual's practical information and subject coverage are designed to meet the needs of both the community legal centre and private practitioner.
or browse 
Law reform proposals
Christine Porter, 'Court Reforms to Help Families Save Time and Costs in Family Law Disputes' (Media Release, Attorney-General's Department (Cth), 30 May 2018) <https://www.attorneygeneral.gov.au/Media/Pages/Court-Reforms-to-help-families-save-time-and-costs-in-family-law-disputes.aspx>.
Attorney-General's Department (Cth), Structural Reforms of the Federal Courts (Web Page) <https://www.ag.gov.au/LegalSystem/Courts/Pages/Structural-reform-of-the-federal-courts.aspx>.
Australian Law Reform Commission, Family Law for the Future: An Inquiry into the Family Law System, (Report No 35, March 2019).
Journal articles
Journal articles can be found in databases listed in Researching Secondary Law Sources - Finding journal articles