Skip to main content

Professional Communication: Advertising, Journalism and Public Relations

Australia

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The most comprehensive source of Australian statistical information is published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), Australia's official statistical organisation. Access to ABS publications including year books, time series data and tables, metadata, economic models, 1996 and 2001 Census Basic Community Profiles are provided online.

Australian Government
The australia.gov.au web site is your guide to government in Australia. It links to over 700 Australian Government web sites as well as selected state and territory resources. Australia.gov.au also searches over five million government web pages. Use the Advanced Search form to search for statistics.

Statistics Research Guide (National Library of Australia)
A guide to finding statistical information from print and online resources. The main emphasis is on Australian resources but also includes overseas information.

International - Profiles and Comparisons

Databases

World Development Indicators Online
‚ÄčThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Passport
Passport is an online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources on 205 countries. Some publications provide time series data and projections.

Web Resources

Human Development Reports
The Human Development Report is an independent report commissioned by the United Nations. It was first launched in 1990 with the single goal of putting people back at the centre of the development process in terms of economic debate, policy and advocacy. Full text publications can be accessed, plus data taken from the Human Development Report.

World Factbook
This resource covers historical background, pollution, climate, geography and transnational issues for each country's profile. Earlier editions of this can be found in databases via the library's catalogue

Australia. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Government site including country, economy, and regional information. Country information link leads to fact sheets (PDF files) on individual countries.

OECD Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development
The OECD collects statistics on a variety of topics related to economic and social developments from statistical agencies and other institutions of its member countries.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators for its member countries. It also publishes full text country reports covering a wide range of social and economic data.