Skip to main content

Food Science

Australian  Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The most comprehensive source of Australian statistical information is published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS). The Statistics tab will take you to the statistics section of the ABS webpage where you can search for statistics by catalogue number, release date, topic or title.

Health is listed as a topic in ABS.

Health Status of Victorians
Includes information about the health and determinants of health of Victorians.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Is the national agency for health and welfare statistics.


 

World  Statistics

FAOSTAT
Food and agriculture statistics published by the Food and Agriculture Organization

Global Health Observatory
National statistics for 70 core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems.

WHO Global InfoBase Online
Data on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO Member States.

OECD 
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) offers 2 comprehensive sources of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. They are OECD Health Statistics and OECD Health Data

This comprehensive database includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. 

 

Food Policy

Analysis & Policy Observatory

This website is described by the publisher as a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand.

You can also search for food policy documents on the Internet through Complex Searching of Google.


 

Food Science Organisations

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand
This agency covers food standards for all of Australia and New Zealand. Responsible for labelling, composition of selected foods, and regulating the use of ingredients.
FSANZ produce 2 reference nutrient databases

  • Australian Food Composition Database is Australia’s reference nutrient database. It contains a wide range of foods and nutrients. The nutrients reported will vary between foods, according to the data we currently have available.
  • AUSNUT (AUStralian Food and NUTrient Database) is our survey specific nutrient database

Food - Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
This site, produced by the Federal Government, covers many aspects of food including production, promotion, regulation and safety.

CSIRO - Agriculture and Food
This Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) is leading the way in food, health and nutrition research. It looks at innovative solutions for the food industry.

Food Safety Centre
This Centre provides information on researchers and research projects in the food safety area. Links to different tools - databases, predictive tools, risk assessment and other resources.

Dairy Australia
Consumer and manufacturing research reports with a Dairy focus, but also mentions other consumer products. Also includes links to funding and grant information.

Food Safety Information Council
The FSIC is Australia’s leading disseminator of consumer targeted food safety information.

FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This organization's mandate is to to achieve food security for all.