MMP322 - Advanced Property Development
The Aim of this guide is to suggest some useful resources to help with your research in MMP322.
This will include some Advanced Searching techniques and will suggest resources that you may find useful.
Searching the library for resources
When searching the library for resources for your assessments, the best place to start is the Library Advanced Search. The Advanced search makes it easy to search using multiple concepts. Have a look at the assessment question - Is there more than 1 key concept? You might need to look for "Property Development" from the perspective of "economic factors". In the advanced search you could set this up like this:
The quotation marks around the terms are a useful search tip to remember! The words AND and OR are also useful in your searching. Here is a useful summary of the search tips:
For an overview on using the Library Advanced Search have a look at this video:
For more help have a look at our Skills for Study page on the Library Website.
Need more sources - look at more databases!
While the advanced search in the library searches about 80% of the library databases, you may also wish to search some databases individually. Good databases to try include:
- ABI/InformABI/INFORM covers all aspects of business, including economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, competitive landscape and product information, accounting and finance.
- Business Source CompleteIncluded in Library Advanced SearchAn Ebsco database that includes peer-reviewed and scholarly journal content related to all aspects of business, economics and management. It also includes content from trade publications, business magazines and news publications.
- Science DirectScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary database that holds an extensive coverage of scholarly articles.
For other suggested databases, have a look at the Finding Articles page in this research guide.
Sources of Economic and Demographic Data
For your assessment, you may be required to locate demographic or economic data. Good sources for data are:
- ABS - Australian Bureau of StatisticsThe ABS provides statistics on a range of issues e.g. economy, industry and labour. Some specific economic statistical publications are Australian Economic Indicators and Australian System of National Accounts.
- World Bank dataThis comprehensive database produced by the World Bank covers over 600 data series over 45 years from over 200 countries. This database allows you to select one or more countries, data series and years. Data can be downloaded into Excel or produced as a chart.
Real Estate Sources
Useful sources of Real Estate reports and data include:
RPData is an online property search application that provides detailed property information and analytics.
https://www.land.vic.gov.au/ is a government site that provides information from the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DEWLP). It provides property reports, interactive online maps, land and survey spatial information and more. For property reports please go to Maps and spatial data or the Property and parcel search page.
Property Observer is a one-stop portal of news and information for property investors and buyers, so they can make informed property investment decisions. Read latest trends in property, including economics, demographics, international trends and interest rates.
Download e-books from their e-book Library. Topics include property investment advice, refinancing your mortgage, property forecasts, property market cycles and more.