Skip to main content

Property and Real Estate

MMP111 - Introduction to Property

The aim of this guide is to suggest some useful resources to assist in your study in MMP111. 

Included are books, ebooks, library databases and websites that may be useful in this unit.

Prescribed text

Recommended Text


Searching the library

If you are new to using the library for searching, please check out the following video:

 

 

This video shows tips on searching for resources in the library.

Using e-books

Deakin Library has many ebooks that students can access from anywhere on many types of devices. 

The library has help pages for using e-books. The easiest way to read an e-book is to access and read it online without downloading it. If you are going to be using the e-book when you have no internet access, you may wish to download the e-book. Each e-book platform can look a bit different, but most have similar features.

 

E-books for Property and Real Estate include:


Journal Articles

Journal articles can be accessed online through the Library databases. Some useful databases for articles are:


Property and Real Estate Data

PriceFinder is an online property search application offering a range of tools to assist in generating timely information for all residential, commercial and rural properties. 


Useful Websites

API LogoThe Australian Property Institute (API) represents around 8,600 property professionals throughout Australia and overseas. They set and maintain standards of professional practice, education, ethics and professional conduct for its members and the broader profession.

REIV logo

 

The Real Estate Institute of Victoria (REIV) is the national professional association for the real estate industry in Australia. Check out their useful online dictionary of property terms.

Property Council of Australia logo

The Property Council of Australia is the leading advocate for Australia’s property industry. It provides advocacy, networking, communication, information, professional development.

The PCA provides valuable data and research information by industry areas such as capital markets, sustainability, office, infrastructure & planning, residential and retail. It also provides National Research Services

airbnb logo

Airbnb is an online marketplace for property rentals providing a wide range of options for lodgings.

Domain LogoDomain has properties for sale or rent, residential and commercial, suburb profiles, auction results and news articles.

realestate.com logo

 

Realestate.com.au - Search for properties or areas for sales and properties for rent or sale. Includes guides, articles and calculators

Aerial photo of village

The Victorian State Government Planning website is an information source on planning projects in Victoria and the planning process.

Image of Heritage Driveway

Heritage Victoria conserves and manages properties of aesthetic, archaeological, architectural, cultural, scientific or social significance, or otherwise of special cultural value. Access the Victorian Heritage database to locate properties of significance.

Land Channel Logo

Land channel is a government site that provides information from the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning. It provides property reports, interactive online maps, land and survey spatial information and more.

Property Observer Logo 

Property Observer is a one-stop portal of news and information for property investors and buyers, so they can make informed property investment decisions. Read latest trends in property, including economics, demographics, international trends and interest rates.

Download e-books from their e-book Library. Topics include property investment advice, refinancing your mortgage, property forecasts, property market cycles and more.


Referencing

It is important that you acknowledge all the sources you use in your writing so that you:

  • show your assessor how widely you have read
  • provide evidence to support and strengthen your arguments and statements
  • demonstrate academic integrity
  • enable the reader to locate the sources referred to in your paper
  • credit the original author(s) for their work.

Refer to The Deakin Guide to Referencing and select the correct style for your unit. If you are unsure, Please check with the unit chair.