General OHS resources
-
Australian Bureau of StatisticsAustralian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
-
Australian StandardsAustralian Standards database provides full text of Australian Standards, draft standards and handbooks, as well as indexing to ISO Standards
-
SpringerLinkContains journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings on a range of topics including Biomedicine, Chemistry, Education, Engineering,Law, Life Sciences and Social Sciences.
-
Wiley JournalsWiley Online Library journals cover subject areas of Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Sciences, Architecture & Planning, Arts, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
Faculty specific resources
-
Australian StandardsAustralian Standards database provides full text of Australian Standards, draft standards and handbooks, as well as indexing to ISO Standards
-
National Construction CodeThe National Construction Code (NCC) is published by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB), on behalf of the Australian Government and State and Territory Governments. The NCC consists of the Building Code of Australia (BCA) Volumes 1 & 2 and also the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA) Volume 3. The BCA contains technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures, covering such matters as structure, fire resistance, access and egress, services and equipment, and energy efficiency as well as certain aspects of health and amenity.
-
Standards and Patents Resource GuideThis guide includes links to resources that contain standard and patent information, including Australian Standards, international standards and library resources for patent searching.
-
SafeWork AustraliaA government website that includes links to each state-based WorkSafe website, and model Codes of Practice.
-
CCH IntelliConnectCCH includes a range of Australian legal publcations and resources. Specifically, it contains a collection of Australian Occupational Health and Safety Law materials.
-
EnviroLaw & SafetyLawSafetyLaw provides summaries of occupational health and safety (OHS) legal obligations for each Australian state/territory, New Zealand and Indonesia. EnviroLaw is a web-based directory containing comprehensive summaries of environmental legal obligations.
-
CINAHL CompleteCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is a research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
-
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
-
Medline CompleteJournal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines.
-
OvidThe Ovid Database includes the nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995.
-
TOXLINETOXLINE includes abstracts and indexes focused on all aspects of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
-
IPCS INCHEMIPCS INCHEM is an invaluable tool for those concerned with chemical safety and the sound management of chemicals.
-
TOXLINETOXLINE includes abstracts and indexes focused on all aspects of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
OHS journals
-
Annals of work exposures and healthDedicated to presenting advances in exposure science supporting the recognition, quantification, and control of exposures at work, and epidemiological studies on their effects on human health and well-being.
-
EHS today: the magazine for environment, health and safety leadersEHS Today is the source for environment, health and safety best management practices including workplace safety, OSHA compliance and industrial hygiene.
-
Human factors: the journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics SocietyPublishes peer-reviewed scientific studies in human factors/ergonomics that present theoretical and practical advances concerning the relationship between people and technologies, tools, environments, and systems.
-
International journal of occupational safety and ergonomics : JOSEA peer reviewed journal that presents results of research in ergonomics and workplace health promotion relevant for the diverse, yet increasingly globalized world.
-
Occupational hazardsOccupational Hazards provides coverage of major legislative, regulatory, and scientific developments, practical how-to articles and profiles of corporate programs and leading professionals.
-
Occupational healthA journal for occupational health nurses, published by the Nursing Times in association with the Royal College of Nursing, Occupational Health Section.
-
The RoSPA occupational safety & health journalContains occupational safety and health news and comment, in depth feature articles and series, book reviews, details of RoSPA affiliated groups' events, reviews of web sites, details of new products and services plus analysis of policy issues.
-
Work: a journal of prevention, assessment & rehabilitationAn interdisciplinary, international journal which publishes high quality peer-reviewed manuscripts covering the entire scope of the occupation of work.
Database Tips
I'm not finding many relevant resources, how can I find more?
To increase your search results you can apply some of the strategies outlined below:
Join similar terms with OR, for example:
university OR higher education to ensure either term appears in your results
organi?ation will find both organisation and organization
Use the truncation symbol at the end of your terms to find variant endings. The truncation symbol is usually the asterisk * for example:
- account* will find account, accounts, accountant, accounting
- teach* will find teach, teacher, teaching
- Australia* will find Australia, Australian, Australians
I'm finding too many resources, how can I narrow my search?
To narrow your search results you can apply some of the strategies outlined below:
Join different concepts or ideas with AND, for example:
primary students and mathematics skills to ensure both terms appear in your results.