Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy

Evidence Based-Practice resources for searching

ACP Journal Club
Current awareness publication for the American College of Physicians, providing abstracts of current medical research of high scientific merit for clinical practice. Includes commentary and clinical applications. Licensing and Resource Information

CINAHL
The world's most comprehensive source of full text articles for nursing & allied health journals.  Licensing and Resource Information

Cochrane Library
Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Licensing and Resource Information

The Joanna Briggs Institute
An International not-for-profit Research and Development Organisation specialising in Evidence-Based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health. Licensing and Resource Information

Medline
Comprehensive research tool providing full text articles from nearly 1,200 medical journals. Coverage dates back to 1965. Licensing and Resource Information

OTDBASE
An internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 8000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present. Licensing and Resource Information

OT Seeker
A database containing abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.


Evidence Based Practice can be applied using the 5 'A' step approach.

EBP 5 A diagram


Resources for understanding EBP

Article:

             Greenhalgh, Trisha. BMJ. 1997. 315(7109). p.672

Book:

Have a look at the library Evidence-Based Practice resource guide: