Image collections
Images can be a useful way of illustrating teaching and learning activities - after all, a picture is worth a thousand words.
Deakin provides access to image databases which are copyright cleared for educational purposes. Check the copyright and licensing conditions before re-use, and fully reference images you use in your assessments.
Gault A. Surgeon. F002/5551. Science Photo Library. [Internet]. London: Science Photo Library; n.d. [cited 2013 January 7] Available from: www.sciencephoto.com
- Anatomy TVInteractive anatomy and pathology 3D resource. Includes 3D animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Also MRI images, clinical slides, radiology slides, X-rays, dissection slides and videos. Images are cleared for educational use (with appropriate acknowledgement).
- CSIRO ScienceImageScienceImage is a free image library specialising in science and nature images. It is presented by CSIRO, Australia's major science research organisation. These images are made available under a Creative Commons Attribution license.
Key online video resources
Streaming video allows for Deakin staff and students to view video online. These can include films, documentaries and instructional videos. Selected examples for Health are listed below.
- Kanopyfilms and documentaries in health.
- Informit EduTVAustralian free to air documentaries.
Key online multimedia resources
Many web search engines allow an image or video specific search, however beware that online material often loses copyright information. It is best to use resources which have clear Creative Commons licences or Terms of Use which enable Deakin to use the material. Never link to or embed material which is clearly in breach of copyright.
Don't use commercial products unless Deakin has a subscription, or you are able to purchase the rights to the resource.
Flickr is a photo sharing website. There are countless topics available. Check the copyright conditions of each image. Terms of Use. Copyright/IP policy..
Gnuckx. Brucoli Sicilia Italy - Creative Commons. 2010. [Cited 2012 December 4]. Available from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnuckx/5017686976/. Used under Creative Commons attribution licence 2.0
Youtube is a video sharing website. Many institutions have their own 'Youtube channel,' including Deakin. See YouTube Terms and YouTube Copyright.
Penguin Books. The Penguin English Library animation. [Internet]. San Bruno: YouTube. n.d. [cited 2020 December 4]. Available from: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYMmri2gEzo. Embedded under part 6C of the YouTube Terms of Use.
News sources
- FactivaFactiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources - including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters and The Associated Press, as well as journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
- Newsbank Access AustraliaNewsbank Access Australia is a text and image newspaper database which features a large collection of Australian news from multiple newspaper sources and is updated daily. Access includes archives from the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s to the present day.
- TVNewsAustralian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes full-text newspapers articles. In addition, the database features television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
- Trove Digitised NewspapersTrove Digitised Newspapers is a free online service from the National Library of Australia that enables full-text searching of newspaper articles. The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies. The first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803, is included in the service. Newly digitised articles are added daily.