2008 trials2009 trials2010 trials2010 additional Trials2011 Trials2012 Trials2013 Trials2014 Trials
This is the "Trial databases" page of the "Trial databases and new electronic resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trial databases and new electronic resources   Tags: new, resources, trials  

The Library offers trials of new databases or eresources to allow students and staff the opportuntity to evaluate their suitability and use. Feedback from trials is used to inform possible purchase decisions.
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2014 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/trials_new Print Guide RSS Updates

Trial databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Library offers trials of new databases or e-resources to allow students and staff the opportunity to evaluate their suitability and use. Feedback from trials is used to inform possible purchase decisions.

Please share your feedback by providing comments in the relevant resource boxes below.

Go direct to the database trials for:

Multidisciplinary

Faculty of Arts & Education

Faculty of Business & Law

Faculty of Health

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

 

Multidisciplinary database trials

The following databases are now available to trial, and are relevant for all Faculties.

 

Faculty of Arts & Education

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Arts & Education.

 

Armed Conflict Database

Armed Conflict Database

Publisher`s description: Armed Conflict Database (ACD) monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts.

Trial ends 31.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Lizzy Tiltman

 

Children`s Literature and Childhood - NCCO

Children`s Literature and Childhood

Children`s Literature and Childhood - Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Publisher`s description: Children's Literature and Childhood provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century. Included in the archive are books and periodicals for children, primers and other material related to education, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths.

Trial ends 25.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further informtion please contact Marion Churkovich

 

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher

Publisher`s description: CQ Researcher is a database providing original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Subjects covered is health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Trial ends 28.08.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Lizzy Tiltman

 

Women: Transnational Networks - NCCO

Women: Transnational Networks - Nineteenth Century Collection Online

Publisher`s description: Women Transnational Network focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late 18th century to the era of suffrage in the early 20th century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains information on European and North American movements.

Trial ends 25.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Lizzy Tiltman

 

Faculty of Business & Law

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Business & Law..

 

Business E-books Online

Business E-books Online - Alexander Street Press

Publisher`s description: Business E-books Online is an online database that gathers textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format.

Trial ends 25.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following;

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Sally Blake

 

Human Resource Management Online

Human Resource Management Online - Alexander Street Press

Publisher`s description: Human Resource Management Online is an educational database with a mix of the top applied content for HR academic programs included materials in human resource management and business education.

Trial ends 25.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Sharon Chua

 

International Business Online

International Business Online - Alexander Street Press

Publisher`s description: International Business Online is a learning database that synthesizes multimedia content for the study of international business.This online collection is curated by business experts and closely aligned to the syllabi of today’s international business courses.

Trial ends 25.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Sharon Chua

 

Mint Global

Mint Global

Publisher`s description: Mint Global contains comprehensive information on both private companies and publicly listed companies worldwide.  You can use it to research individual companies and find groups of companies with specific profiles and analyse them.

Trial ends 28.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Sharon Chua

 

Prowess

Prowess

Please note:  Clicking on the link users may need to create their own individual username by registering, upon registration the user will receive an email containing their password.

Upon activating access there is an access agreement displayed, this has been reviewed and accepted during the trial period.

Publisher`s description: Prowess is a database of the financial performance of Indian companies. Annual Reports of individual companies is the principal source of this database. The database covers listed and unlisted companies. Several formatted analytical tabulations that include ratio analysis, funds-flow analysis, benchmark and peer comparisons.

Trial ends 30.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Sharon Chua

 

Faculty of Health

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Health.

 

Thieme Medlantis (eRadiology)

   

Thieme Medlantis (eRadiology)

Publisher`s description: Thieme Medlantis provides access to the entire radiology collection, users will be able to access all 3 segments of the platform: Medlantis (recorded video lectures), RadCases (Thousands of Case Studies), and eRadiology (Thieme ebooks, ejournals, images).

Trial ends 31.07.2014

Please provide feedback by clicking on the comments link below. When posting comments you may like to consider the following:

  • relevance to your area of interest
  • ease of use of the database
  • search functionality

For further information please contact Fiona Russell

 

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

The following databases are now available to trial, and are most relevant for the Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment

 

User Obligations

Deakin University Library provides access to electronic resources for education, research or personal use.  Use of the resources is usually governed by licence agreements. 

Use by individual users is subject to acceptance of the terms and conditions of these licence agreements, and/or copyright law.  When a licence applies, the terms of use that you need to comply with are shown on the Library web pages and/or catalogue from links called "Licensing & Resource Info" or "more info".

Information must not be used for commercial purposes or re-sold in any way. Any copyright resides with the original author or publisher.

Refer to Acceptable use of e-resources for a general statement on acceptable or unacceptable terms of use. For specific details on use of an individual e-resource always refer to individual licence information.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip