This is the "Natural History collection" page of the "Natural History in the Special Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Natural History in the Special Collection   Tags: botany, history_of_science, ornithology, zoology  

Guide to rare books and other materials relating to natural history in the Special Collection.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2013 URL: http://deakin.libguides.com/spcnathist Print Guide RSS Updates

Natural History collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Special Collection and ADPML

Most of Deakin University Library's Special Collections are accessible through the Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library.

Collection strengths include books on architecture, education, missionaries of the Pacific, Papua New Guinea, 19th century travel, natural history, scientific expeditions, nutrition, cookery and women in the home. Special Collection materials may be consulted in the reading room of the Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library, Dennys Lascelles Building, Geelong Waterfront Campus.

 

Visit / Contact

The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library is located at the Geelong Waterfront Campus.  It is on the ground floor of the Dennys Lascelles Building, corner of Western Beach Road and Cunningham Street, Geelong. Enter via Western Beach Road or Cunningham Street.

Hours of opening:

10 - 4 Monday to Friday

Contact:

Kristen Thornton
Curator & Librarian
ph. 03 5227 8253
Send email

Mailing address:
Deakin University Library
Geelong Waterfront Campus
Locked Bag 20000
Geelong, Victoria 3220

Website

 

Natural History in the Special Collection

(image from: Birds of Australia / Gregory M. Mathews, London, Witherby & Co., 1910-1927)

Deakin University Library's Special Collection has excellent holdings of rare books relating to natural history, early science and voyages of scientific discovery. These include a number of early Australian works, including some fine colourplate books, and influential works from overseas. 

Deakin University has a number of research strengths in areas relating to ecology, marine science and palaeontology and the holdings in the Special Collection aim to support research in these disciplines.

 

Search

Search the Special collection

* All search results open in a new window. *

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip