Prescribed Texts
Prescribed texts for MLL342 & MLC309
- Stewart's guide to employment law - Andrew Stewart
Call Number: KN 190 K1 Ste/Sgt
ISBN/ISSN: 9781862876712 - Supplement to Stewarts Guide to Employment Law
Via Federation Press website. - McCallum's Top Workplace Relations Cases Labour law and the employment relationship as defined by case law - Professor Ron McCallum
COMING SOON!
Recommended Texts
Recommended texts for MLL342 & MLC309
- Labour law - Breen Creighton & Andrew Stewart
Call Number: KN 190 Cre/Lla 2005 - Employment law in principle - Rohan Price ; contributing author Jennifer Nielsen
Call Number: KN 190 K1 Pri/Eli 2009 - Understanding Forward with fairness : a practical guide to the new workplace relations system. - CCH Australia
Call Number: KN 190 K1 Cch/Ufw - Fair Work : the new workplace laws and the Work Choices legacy - editors: Anthony Forsyth, Andrew Stewart
Call Number: KN 190 K1 For/Fwt
The law of work - Rosemary Owens and Joellen Riley
Call Number: KN 190 K1 Owe/Low
ISBN/ISSN: 0195512227
Employee protection at common law - Joellen Riley
Call Number: KN 192 K1 Ril/Epa- Discrimination law and practice - Chris Ronalds
Call Number: KM 208 K1 Ron/Dla 2008
Legislation
- Fair Work Act 2009 Includes links to: Fair Work Act 2009; Fair Work (Transitional Provisions and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2009; Fair Work (State Referral and Consequential and Other Amendments) Bill 2009
- Fair Work Bill 2008 - Bills Digest A document that outlines the purpose, background and provisions. Produced by:
Parliamentary Library Information, analysis and advice for the Parliament BILLS DIGEST - Independent Contractors Act 2006 An Act relating to independent contractors, and for related purposes.
- Whistleblowers Protection Act 2001 Via AUSTLII
- Corporations Act 2001 An Act to make provision in relation to corporations and financial products and services, and for other purposes. Via Comlaw
- Surveillance Devices Act 1999 (Vic) Version incorporating amendments as at 11 February 2009 - Via AUSTLII
- Workplace Surveillance Act 2005 (NSW) As at 1 August 2008
Via AUSTLII - Racial Discrimination Act 1975 (Cth) Consoliddated Act.
- Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (Cth) Consolidated Act.
- Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth) Consolidated Act.
- Equal Opportunity For Women In The Workplace Act 1999 (Cth) Consolidated Act.
- Equal Opportunity Act (Vic) Consolidated Act.
- Occupational Health and Safety Act 2004 Consolidated Act.
Version incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2009.
Journal Articles
This is not a comprehensive list of journal articles.
You must research more widely using the Library legal databases: http://library.deakin.edu.au/search~s1/s?law
- Who Owns Human Capital? A Critical Appraisal of Legal Techniques for Capturing the Value of Work by Joellen Riley
(2005) 18 AJLL 1 - The Evolution of the Contract of Employment Post WorkChoices Riley, Joellen
29(1) (2006) University of New South Wales Law Journal 166 - Time and Money under WorkChoices: Understanding the new Workplace Relations Act as a Scheme of Regulation By: SEAN COONEY, JOHN HOWE AND JILL MURRAY
(2006) 29(1) University of New South Wales Law Journal 215 - Myth and Muddle - An Examination of Contracts for the Performance of Work by Adrian Brooks
(1988) 11(2) University of New South Wales Law Journal 48
Introduction and Overview
- Latest News in Workplace & Employment Law News Via Alert 24
- Labour Law Via Laws of Australia Encyclopedia.
26. Labour Law 26.1. Individual employment
26.2. Discrimination
26.3. Australian industrial relations system
26.4. Awards and workplace agreements
26.5. Workers' compensation
26.6. Regulation of industrial organisations
26.7. Regulation of industrial conflict
26.8. Occupational health and safety - Employment Conditions - Via Law Handbook Fitzroy Legal Service
Cases
Relevant Case Law for these Units
- Hollis v Vabu Pty Ltd Access the case summary, litigation history, cases citing, cases referred, and link to the fulltext via Commonwealth Law Reports. 207 CLR 21
- Hollis v Vabu PTY LTD (t/as Crisis Couriers) Access to case via Australian Law Reports on LexisNexisAU
(2001) 181 ALR 263 - Hollis v Vabu Pty Ltd Access full transcript via AUSTLII
[2001] HCA 44 - NP Generations Pty Ltd v Feneley Access the fulltext case via Intellectual Property Reports on LNAU.
(2001) 52 IPR 563 - NP Generations P/L T/AS LJ Hooker v Feneley Access to full transcript via AUSTLII.
[2000] SASC 240 - Stevens v Brodribb Access to full text case via Australian Law Reports on LexisNexis AU
63 ALR 513 - AMP v Chaplin Acces to fulltext case via Australian Law Reports on Lexis Nexis AU
18 ALR 385 - Dietrich v Dare Access to fulltext case via Australian Law Reports on LexisNexis AU
30 ALR 407 - Riverwood International Australia Pty Ltd v McCormick Access to full transcript via AUSTLII
[2000] FCA 889 (4 July 2000) - Goldman Sachs JBWere Services Pty Limited v Nikolich Access to full transcript via AUSTLII
[2007] FCAFC 120 (7 August 2007) - Tony Selak v Woolworths Limited Access to Full Transcript via AUSTLII
[2007] AIRC 786 (26 October 2007) - Quinn v Jack Chia Access fulltext case via Victorian Reports on LexisNexis AU
[1992] 1 VR 567 - Concut v Worrell Access the summary from the Australian Digest and the fulltext case.
[2000] HCA 64 - Byrne v Australian Airlines Ltd Access the summary from the Australian Digest and the fulltext case via the Commonwealth Law Reports
185 CLR 410 - The King v Darling Island Stevedoring and Lighterage Co. Ltd.; Ex parte Halliday and Sullivan Access the summary from the Australian Digest and the fulltext case via the Commonwealth Law Reports.
60 CLR 601 - Australian Telecommunications Commission v Hart Access the fulltext case via the Australian Law Reports on LexisNexis AU
(1982) 43 ALR 165 - Pettet v Readiskill Lmt Mildura Access the fulltext via Unreported Judgments on LexisNexis AU
[2001] VSCA 211 - Printing Industry Employees Union of Australia v Jackson & O'Sullivan Pty Ltd Access the summary via the Australian Digest and the fulltext case via Federal Law Reports.
1 FLR 175 - Zuijs v Wirth Brothers Pty. Ltd Access the case summary and link to the case via the Commonwealth Law Reports. 93 CLR 561
- Malik v. Bank of Credit; Mahmud v. Bank of Credit [1998] AC 20 - Access via BAILII
- Spencer Industries Pty Ltd v Collins (2003) 58 IPR 425 - Access via Intellectual Property Reports on LNAU
- Victoria University of Technology v Wilson (2004) 60 IPR 392 - Via Intellectual Property Reports on LNAU
- North v Television Corporation Ltd (1976) 11 ALR 599 - Via Lexis Nexis AU
- Blyth Chemicals Ltd v Bushnell 49 CLR 66
Access the case summary and full case. - Independent Management Resources Pty Ltd v Brown [1987] VR 605 - Via Victorian Reports on LNAU
- Redrock Holdings Pty Ltd v Hinkley (2001) 50 IPR 565 - Via Intellectual Property Reports on LNAU
- Stoelwinder v Southern Health [2001] FCA 115
- Welbourn v Australian Postal Commission [1984] VR 257 - Via Australian Law Reports on LNAU
- Mann v Capital Territory Health Commission 54 FLR 23 - Via Federal Law Reports
- Ansell Rubber Co Pty Ltd v Allied Rubber Industries Pty Ltd [1967] VR 37 - Via Victorian Reports on LNAU
- Du Bois-Hammond v Ariel, Cole and Raging Thunder Pty Ltd [2004] QADT 27 (26 August 2004)
Anti-Discrimination Tribunal Queensland - Via AUSTLII - Australian Iron & Steel Pty Ltd v Banovic Access the case summary and link to the fulltext via Commonwealth Law Reports. - Via Firstpoint
- State of Victoria v Schou (No 2) [2004] VSCA 71 - Via LNAU
- Duma & Mader International Pty Ltd (Anti-Discrimination) [2007] VCAT 2288 (30 November 2007)
Via AUSTLII - McKenna v State of Victoria (1998) EOC ¶92-915 - Via Equal Opportunity Cases on CCH Online
- Bishop v Takla & Ors (2004) EOC ¶93-333 - Via Equal Opportunity Cases on CCH Online.
- Foran v Bloom [2007] QADT 31 (5 December 2007)
- Via AUSTLII - Jumbunna Coal Mine NL v Victorian Coal Miners Association 6 CLR 309 - Access the case summary and link to the fulltext case.- Via Firstpoint.
- Ponzio v B & P Caelli Construction Pty Ltd [2006] FCA 1221
Access the case Summary and the fulltext case - Via Firstpoint. - Ansett Transport Industries (Operations) Pty Ltd v Australian Federation of Air Pilots(Airline Pilots/Pilots' Strike case) [1991] 1 VR 637 - Via Victorian Reports on LNAU
- BP Refinery (Westernport) Pty Ltd v Hastings Shire Council (1977) 180 CLR 266
Access the case summary and fulltext case. - Dollar Sweets Pty Ltd v Federated Confectioners Association of Australia(Dollar Sweets case) [1986] VR 383 - Via Victorian Reports on LNAU
- Russell v Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church, Archdiocese of Sydney [2008] NSWCA 217
Access case summary and link to the full decision. - Via Firstpoint. - Downe v Sydney West Area Health Service (No 2) [2008] NSWSC 159
Link to the case summary and fulltext case. - Quinn v Gray [2009] VSC 136
Journal articles referring to Hollis v Vabu
Journal articles referring to the case: Hollis v Vabu Pty Ltd.
This is not a comprehensive list of journal articles relating to this case.
You must research more widely using the Library legal databases: http://library.deakin.edu.au/search~s1/s?law
- Agency: Definitional Challenges Through the Law of Tort. Access to fulltext journal article via Torts Law Journal on LNAU.
(2003) 11 TLJ 68 - Redefining Employment? Meeting the Challenge of Contract and Agency Labour Access to fulltext journal article via Australian Journal of Labour Law on LNAU.
(2002) 15 AJLL 235 - The Dispersing and Transformed Workplace: Labour Law and the Effect of Electronic Work. Access to fulltext article via Australian Journal of Labour Law on LNAU.
(2003) 16 AJLL 69 - The High Court on Vicarious Liability. Access the fulltext journal article via Australian Journal of Labour Law on LNAU.
(2003) 16 AJLL 214 - The Legal Pulverisation of Social Issues: Andar Transport Pty Ltd v Brambles Ltd. Access the fulltext journal article via the Torts Law Journal on LNAU.
Websites
- Workplace Law - (MLL342) Links to:
Australia | Other Jurisdictions | International Organisations & Links
Via Deakin Law School - Dept of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations - Fact Sheets "The Australian Government is delivering on its election commitment to implement Forward with Fairness, creating a fair and flexible workplace relations system that achieves the right balance between employers and employees."
- Employment and workplace relations service for Australians Access information regarding agreements, awards, contracts, pay, leave, workplace conditions and workplace issues.
- Forward with Fairness - Labor’s plan for fairer and more productive Australian workplaces. by Kevin Rudd MP & Julia Gillard MP
April 2007 - Australian Industrial Relations Commission "The Australian Industrial Relations Commission (AIRC) is an independent, national tribunal dealing with employment issues including:
industrial dispute resolution
unfair and unlawful dismissal
awards
industrial action..." - Jobwatch: Employment Rights Legal Centre "JobWatch is...
An employment rights legal centre which provides assistance to Victorian workers about their rights at work..." - Fair Work Australia Fair Work Australia is the national workplace relations tribunal. It is an independent body with power to carry out a range of functions relating to:
the safety net of minimum wages and employment conditions
enterprise bargaining
industrial action
dispute resolution
termination of employment
other workplace matters. - Fair Work Ombudsman "To give advice and help you understand your workplace rights and responsibilities."
- Fair Work Online "Find information and advice about Australia’s new national workplace relations system from the Fair Work Ombudsman.
You’ll also find links to Fair Work Australia - the national workplace relations tribunal." - Victorian Workcover Authority
Databases
The databses listed have been selected for your subject.
To access the full list of Legal Databases: http://library.deakin.edu.au/search~s1/s?law
- CCH Industrial Law Library Includes access to:
Australian Labour Law Reporter; Australian Workplace Law Partner; Australian Employment Legislation; Australian Industrial Law Reports; Research Manual of Industrial Law; Australian Industrial Law News; - CCH Workers Compensation Library Includes access to: Australian Workers Compensation Commentary; Australian Workers Compensation Legislation; Australian Workers Compensation Review;
Australian Compensation News - CCH Employment Law Guide Includes access to: Australian Employment Law Guide;
Employment Case Roundup
E-Books
Access E-Books on Employment Law, Industrial Law or Workplace Law via the Library catalogue
Google Scholar Search
A default search on workplace law or Industrial law or employment law.
(search results open in a new window)
Digital Theses
Case Summaries
- Malik v Bank of Credit and Commerce International SA - Case Summary See legislation cited, cases and articles cited, cases referring to this case, law journal articles referring to this case.
- Pastrycooks Employees, Biscuit Makers Employees and Flour and Sugar Goods Workers Union (NSW) v Gartrell White (No 3) 35 IR 70
Access the fulltext in print in the Library.
http://library.deakin.edu.au/record=b1322422~S1 - Australis Media Holdings Pty Ltd v Telstra Corporation Ltd 1998 43 NSWLR 104
Access the fulltext in print in the Library.
http://library.deakin.edu.au/record=b1307668~S1 - FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v AR Griffiths & Sons Pty Ltd 71 ALJR 651
Access the fulltext in print in the Library.
http://library.deakin.edu.au/record=b1196144~S1 - Orr v University of Tasmania [1956] Tas SR 155
Access the fulltext in print in the Library.
http://library.deakin.edu.au/record=b1632443~S1
Journal Titles
This is not a comprehensive list of journal titles.
Access the Library catalogue http://library.deakin.edu.au/search~S1/Y
or the legal databases for more information.
http://library.deakin.edu.au/search~s1/s?law
- Australian Journal of Labour Law Links directly to the Table of contents of this journal via LexisNexisAU. Access fulltext journal articles from Volume 1 Issue 1 (1988) to current day.
- The Journal of industrial relations Access to the fulltext journal from 01 Apr. 1959- to current day. Via SAGE Premier.
- British journal of industrial relations Access the fulltext journal articles via Blackwell Synergy.
From 01 Mar. 1997- to current day - British journal of industrial relations Access fulltext journal articles vis Business Source Premier.
From: 01 Mar. 1966- 08 June 2008 - International journal of employment studies Access the fulltext journal articles via Business Source Premier. From 01 Apr. 1993- to current day.
- The International journal of comparative labour law and industrial relations Access the fulltext journal via Kluwer Law International.
From 01 Jan. 1998- to current day. - Other E-Journals relating to: Workplace Law, Industrial Law, Employment Law
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait